Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Iomega NAS not allowing remote access through Sky Sagem Router

    This is a discussion on Iomega NAS not allowing remote access through Sky Sagem Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi Lonermascot / Scubbie I wonder if you can help please. I recently moved to Sky and I have a ...

    1. #11
      W0107's Avatar
      W0107 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Iomega NAS not allowing remote access through Sky Sagem Router

      Hi Lonermascot / Scubbie

      I wonder if you can help please. I recently moved to Sky and I have a Netgear Readynas which I want to port forward so that i can access it when I am away from home. Everything was working fine with the previous supplier. But now with Sky, I just couldnt get the https working. I have followed the steps and advices you given above but with no success.

      HTTP (TCP:80) works perfectly but I just couldn't get HTTPS(TCP:443) to work. when I type in my external ip (i.e. https://(external ip)) on the browser, it just say web page is not available. I can confirm that 443 port is open. Can you please help?

      kind regards
      W


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Iomega NAS not allowing remote access through Sky Sagem Router

      You must do this from outside your home network.

      Sky's routers don't properly support "loop back".

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      W0107's Avatar
      W0107 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Iomega NAS not allowing remote access through Sky Sagem Router

      Thank you very much Scubbie. you are right, it doesnt work if I try to access it within the same network as the router.

      This is a pain as I used to be able to sync files at home with the same WebDAV setting on my ipad.

      any suggestion?

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Iomega NAS not allowing remote access through Sky Sagem Router

      As a suggestion, try setting the HTTPS port on the ReadyNAS to another port number.

      This is similar to what I have just done (previously I wasn't forwarding the https port):

      Setting on my 1st ReadyNAS:
      IP Address: 192.168.0.201
      ftp port: 8001
      https port: 8002
      Passive ports: 50000-50150

      Setting on my 2nd ReadyNAS:
      IP Address: 192.168.0.202
      ftp port: 8003
      https port: 8004
      Passive ports: 50151-50300

      Router Port forwarding:

      Ports 8001-8002 TCP/UDP to IP Address 192.168.0.201
      Ports 8003-8004 TCP/UDP to IP Address 192.168.0.202
      Ports 50000-50150 TCP/UDP to IP Address 192.168.0.201
      Ports 50151-50300 TCP/UDP to IP Address 192.168.0.202

      This works fine in my case. By grouping the ports I reduce the potential number of rules required. Apparently many home routers have a limit of 20. I don't know the limits for the router you have.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION