Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

    This is a discussion on Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Guys, Hopefully someone can help, I bought a replacement Sagemcom 2504 router off ebay to replace my current sagem 2504 ...

    1. #1
      paul38's Avatar
      paul38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      Guys,

      Hopefully someone can help,

      I bought a replacement Sagemcom 2504 router off ebay to replace my current sagem 2504 in the hope to extend my wireless range, it really is rubbish with the sagem.

      However, i (probably stupidly) thought it would be simply a matter of swapping cables, entering new password and away i go....not my luck, the replacement router starts up fine however all i can get is local access only with a solid red @ symbol lit on the router.

      Ive tried restarting it (many times), reseting it at the back, different PSU and also trying to restore it to factory settings, all which has made no difference.

      Does this sound like a duff router or is there maybe something i else i need to be doing?

      Thanks in advance

      Regards

      Paul


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      I have heard of some second hand routers to be blocked by sky, if people haven't paid their bill or something. Not sure what the solution would be to this problem.
      With sky since 1997.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Fryingpan77 For This Useful Post:

      paul38 (10-07-12)

    5. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      Yep, sounds like it's been blocked at Sky's end. The username/password are linked to an account and if that account has been suspended it won't work with anyone else until the block is lifted
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to IWasNotTheEnemy For This Useful Post:

      paul38 (10-07-12)

    7. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      In this case I don't think it is blocked, if it were it would be able to sync with the exchange(orange light) but not connect to the Sky servers. The fact that it is showing a red light means it is not picking up an ADSL signal at all. This can happen with a duff PSU, but if that has been changed.....

      The only other thing, apart from being faulty, is if it is actually a Sky Fibre router, which might need the settings changed to to ADSL. This is unlikely as I believe the default setting is Auto, which in theory should pick up either, depending on the port used..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #5
      paul38's Avatar
      paul38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      Thanks for the replies guys,

      Just tried a third PSU just in case - still no luck!!

      Looks like a call to sky is required to get a new router - or just put up with the limited wireless range of the sagem....

      Are there any settings which possibly could be blocking the connection?

      Thanks Paul

    9. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      If it is a fibre router there is a setting which allows you to select Auto, Fibre or ADSL, can't tell you where you will find it. If it is an ADSL only router there are not any settings you can change which will help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #7
      paul38's Avatar
      paul38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      Thanks,

      Was able to get access to a mamely members router (same type, sagemcon 2504) who lives very close and went through both router setting options on 2 laptops beside each other. Everything seems as it should. Looks like a duff router - joys of ebay!!

      Cheers again

      Paul

    11. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      I am sorry, I have been twittering on about a fibre router and if you have the old 2504, then it can't be as it is only available on the N models.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      paul38 (10-07-12)

    13. #9
      paul38's Avatar
      paul38 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Location
      Northern Ireland
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      Many thanks again for your quick and helpful posts.

      Double success for once to report, phoned sky and got speaking to the most helpful guy I have ever dealt with in any customer helplines, not only are they sending a free replacement router but also managed to more than double my download speed!!!! Gone from approx 6 to an expected 14-15.

      Really chuffed and surprised by the results.

      Almost go as far to say that call (especially the speed part) has restored my faith in sky!!!!

      Cheers again

      Paul

    14. #10
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Solid red light on replacement Sagemcom 2504 router

      Just to clarify -

      Red light on the old 2504 = No sync; either faulty PSU or router
      Red light on the 2504n = (Usually) sync with no PPP, the same as amber light on the old routers

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION