Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

    This is a discussion on Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there I need some help connecting to my VPN SSL web page at work ( https://ny.remoteaccess.thomsonreuters.com/connect ). I’m not ...

    1. #1
      Greggy's Avatar
      Greggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      Hi there

      I need some help connecting to my VPN SSL web page at work (https://ny.remoteaccess.thomsonreuters.com/connect).

      I’m not technical but from looking at posts on this forum and talking to sky it seems that sky broadband and my Dlink DSL-2640S will not allow as standard a connection to VPN SSL.

      As far as I can determine, I have two options (as detailed below). But I’m stuck on which option is the best and how to make the required to the router configuration.

      Oh, I’m also using a MacBook Pro running Lion.

      If anyone can confirm which option to use, and explain in dummy terms what I need to do, it will be much appreciated.

      Cheers

      Greg

      Possible Options?
      [1]
      Reconfigure the Dlink DSL-2640S so that I can access the VPN SSL


      [2] Use a Netgear WGR614V9 router from a previous Virgin agreement. The box says this allows “for static and dynamic routing with TCP/IP, VPN pass-through…” So, it seems this could be a good option.

      This needs a modem though. Is it possible to configure the existing Dlink router to act purely as a modem, and pass the internet signal to the netgear router?

      I’ve got as far as extracting my dlink/sky user name and password…. I know need help!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      I have just tried with a few different router options and couldn't gain access on my Sky broadband connection (with Sky and Non-sky routers). I could gain access via my mobile when on 3G, but not with it on WiFi.

      This leads me to believe that it is Sky's network that is blocking the site, not the router. This means that you should take this up with Sky's tech support as they will need to unblock something directly related to the site.

      The router you have there though (WG614) is a cable router and I tried the one I have here too and again had no joy.

      If you want to confirm things for yourself, using the Sky router effectively as a Modem, take a look at this thread:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...nk-dir613.html

      For reference, you could use it to extend the WiFi coverage by following the guide in this thread:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      I am correctly compiling a list of legitimate VPN sites which people are having problems with. would you mind me raising this with someone at Sky as well please? I can't promise any immediate solution with the route I am taking but it may help others in the future.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      Its not blocked by Sky, I am using a DG934g at the moment and clicking your link gets me this-

      Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?-snip.jpg

      Are you getting that and can't go further?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (24-06-12)

    6. #4
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      Sites working fine for me... Im on unlimited using supplied router

      My work has that system. I might be stupid here but if it's like mine You simply log in and then it encrpyts it all, And then you log in again? If so why are you trying to use your routers software?

      Maybe I have got it wrong if so i appologise.

    7. #5
      Greggy's Avatar
      Greggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      Hi Scubbie

      Thanks for the quick response and useful info - I'll take a look.

      No problem with you adding this VPN link to your list.

      Subsequent to your post, it seems that some users can access the page.

      See my later responses.

      So, perhaps it is a router setting? Or is it possible that there is some sort of blocking going on by Sky according to region? I'm based in North London.

      cheers

      Greg

    8. #6
      Greggy's Avatar
      Greggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      Isitme and williammorris

      Thanks for investigating.

      Yes, that's the sign in page / site i'm trying to access. But it wont load.

      When I type the url in (and it's totally typed correctly) it just hangs and eventually I get a time out.

      Does anyone have any ideas?

      Scubbie - in the meantime I'm going to try and connect my Netgear router via the Dlink acting as a modem.... Wish me luck!!...

    9. #7
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      Ah I see - sorry I thought you were trying to use a VPN to get to it - not that it wouldn't load

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      I have just tried tethering both laptops via my mobile and I was able to view the portal.

      Neither can access it via my Sky broadband connection.

      @williammorris: I would guess that once Greggy can access the log in screen he would be able to get in to the VPN. Strange that some can get in and others can't.

      Since others can access the portal on their connections it could well be that some of Sky's servers are blocking, whilst others are fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #9
      Greggy's Avatar
      Greggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      Hi Scubbie

      Okay, that makes sense. Thanks for the extra effort / investigation.

      I'll phone / shout at sky tomorrow!....

      Re setting the Dlink up to act as a modem.

      I'm stuck on step 3:
      Now unplug the Ethernet cable from the Sky router, plug it into the Dlink and enter 192.168.0.1 in the address bar. You will get the Logon screen, just click the Login button. The password is ‘blank’, ie don’t type anything. (Pic 3)

      If I've interpreted this correctly, its telling me to connect the Dlink(in my case Netgear) via ethernet to my Macbook. I've done this bu then upon entering the "192.168.0.1 in the address bar [assume this means browser) I don't get the control pannel. Just an error message - cant connect to the internet.

      Errrr, what am I missing?!

      Thanks



    12. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Accessing VPN SSL - router configuration / options to make work?

      Step 3 is asking you to log into you own router. The default details for the WGR614 are located underneath on the label.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION