Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    PC only connects after rebooting router.

    This is a discussion on PC only connects after rebooting router. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; If your PC is still not connecting, I wonder if it is being confused by the change in WiFi security. ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      If your PC is still not connecting, I wonder if it is being confused by the change in WiFi security. Could you delete the entry for the router and the go through the process to reconnect?

      As for the router showing both PPPoA & MER, I'm not clear why this should be. Perhaps it is just something to confuse people. The router should only connect via one of the two protocols, not both simultaneously. Another visible difference between the two that you might see is the VCI figure.

      For PPPoA this is 38, whilst for MER it will be 40.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      raymartin01's Avatar
      raymartin01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bootle
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      I'm afraid I didn't notice what the VCI was, it's showing 38 now. As for deleting the entry for the router, I had to do that to get it to connect after I changed the security type.

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      The only other things I can think of is to set the DNS Servers on your PC and to confirm that you have all the latest hardware drivers and Windows updates. You'll need to check the manufacturer website for the WiFi adaptor.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      If you are only having problems with one PC then it is probably the PC's adapter which is the cause. Go to the adapter manufacturers site and download the latest driver for your adapter. Do not believe Windows when it says you have the best driver, this is very often wrong. Download the latest even if it is the same as the one you have, as it may be corrupted. When you have downloaded the driver, uninstall the adapter and all its software. Use the Device Manager to do this, then check in the Control Panel, Programs and features, that all of its software has been removed. When you do this, re-install using the new driver and reconnect to your router.

      One other thing you can check is in the Power settings make sure the PC is not set to turn off the adapter at any time. It may be a good idea to check this before updating the driver.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      raymartin01's Avatar
      raymartin01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bootle
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      I definitely have the latest driver according to the Belkin website. However, the Power settings were set to turn the adapter off, so I've unchecked that and I'll see how I go from there.

    7. #16
      raymartin01's Avatar
      raymartin01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bootle
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      Does anyone know if the Belkin F5D9050UK is compatible with Vista 64-bit? I'm beginning to suspect that it may not be, although it worked perfectly up to the firmware update...

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      Have you checked on the Belkin forums?

      This may be a reported issue.

      If you suspect the firmware update, then could you roll back to the older firmware?

    9. #18
      Gigabit's Avatar
      Gigabit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ZeN
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      I have experienced this issue with a DG834GT. It seems that the DG834GT does not "talk" to the network adaptor on some PCs. The only way to rectify this issue is to give your PC a static IP address. After one has done this, the issue no longer occurs.

    10. #19
      raymartin01's Avatar
      raymartin01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bootle
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      I've managed to find a 64-bit driver for the adapter, and I've also set a static IP address for my PC, so let's see how I get on with that...

    11. #20
      raymartin01's Avatar
      raymartin01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bootle
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: PC only connects after rebooting router.

      I thought I may have sorted it, but no, it's playing silly buggers again. I've run out of things to change but there it was again this morning, showing 'limited connectivity' on my PC while at the same time working fine on my brother's PC and on my Blackberry. Obviously the fault lies on my PC, but I'm convinced it started about the same time the router firmware was updated. Can anyone help? Please??

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION