Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Here are my results

    This is a discussion on Here are my results within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Here are my new stats Router Statistics System Up Time: 00:57:00 Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s ...

    1. #1
      KJ31's Avatar
      KJ31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Here are my results

      Here are my new stats

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 00:57:00
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 36748 64471 2582 50387 00:30:35
      LAN 94803 59687 35032 2571 00:57:01
      WLAN 3873 97 623 16 00:30:24
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 19998 kbps 1043 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5db 8.2db
      Noise Margin 2.8db 11.3db
      Connection Speed: Downstream 19758 kbps Upstream 1153 kbps







    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Here are my results

      Is that with or without the filtered faceplate?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      KJ31's Avatar
      KJ31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Here are my results

      The speeds are Without the filtered faceplate
      Connection Speed: Downstream 19758 kbps Upstream 1153 kbps






    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Here are my results

      ...............and are you using your own router to lower the noise margin? It is very low and likely to drop out when the line gets busier.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      KJ31's Avatar
      KJ31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Here are my results

      no all i did was phoned sky yesterday but before i phoned i went back to the original F@st 2504N router and just kept an eye on it like I was advised from sky and thats the speed it has come at this morning.
      Connection Speed: Downstream 19758 kbps Upstream 1153 kbps






    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Here are my results

      Try your Netgear, you may get a better noise margin, but be aware that it will sync at 7db and you may loose speed. I think your line may have been set at a quiet time on the line and as it gets noisier the noise margin is dropping. This can lead to errors or a complete drop out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      KJ31's Avatar
      KJ31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Here are my results

      I will keep an eye on it first and see how it goes then think about going back to the netgear

      What would you say then for the noise margin roughly what db should I be looking out for
      Connection Speed: Downstream 19758 kbps Upstream 1153 kbps






    9. #8
      KJ31's Avatar
      KJ31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Here are my results

      if I do change routers I will use another router that is skys and that is DSL-2640S, i have already tried the router and it works with my connection the only thingh I want to know is : The connection is MER not pppoa so I cant put my sky account username and password in that I have already extacted form the F@ast 2504N, does that matter as it works with my connection or do I need to put the details in somehow ??????????
      Connection Speed: Downstream 19758 kbps Upstream 1153 kbps






    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Here are my results

      The connection is MER not pppoa so I cant put my sky account username and password in that I have already extacted form the F@ast 2504N, does that matter as it works with my connection or do I need to put the details in somehow
      There is a good chance that PPPoA is still active on the line, so any Sky router should connect without any alteration. I thought you had connected your own Netgear? If you did it will have used PPPoA.

      For a stable line you should be looking for 6-7db. This allows a bit of leeway if you do get occasional noise on the line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      KJ31's Avatar
      KJ31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Here are my results

      I did connect the netgear but was having few problems with it so need to look into it as it is the router it's self so thats what made me connect the f@st 2504N back up before calling sky.

      The netgear one did connect with pppoa but the DSL-2640S has come from sky themselves and when I tried the router it connected and worked fine but I can not put my account username and password that I extracted from the F@ast 2504N into the router, it connects at PPPoA on firmware 1.07 but when it updates to firmware 2.04 the Connection changes to MER.

      Either firmware There is no option to put a username or password.

      Thats why I wanted to know if it is ok that it hasnt got my details in the router
      Connection Speed: Downstream 19758 kbps Upstream 1153 kbps






     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION