Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Isitme

How to turn off wireless access on d-link router?

This is a discussion on How to turn off wireless access on d-link router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, sorry if this is a daft question - I'm a newbie here. i HAVE THE D-LINK (think it is ...

person is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

How to turn off wireless access on d-link router?

Hi, sorry if this is a daft question - I'm a newbie here. i HAVE THE D-LINK (think it is DSL-2640 - but it doesn't even tell you on the box!)
      Someone has been hacking into my wireless network and changing things on my computer, then emailing back boasting about it. I wanted to change the network key, but when I logged into the router, I found that I don't seem to be able to change anything. I wondered if I could turn off the wireless access, as I only have one computer and can just use it via the wire. I've installed a better firewall and hope that it might improve things. It just strikes me as dumb to have everything locked down so you can't change the key when you've been hacked.

So - am I missing something? Is it possible to turn off wireless access or change the key or other security settings? Thanks.

2. Advertisement
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

Re: How to turn off wireless access on d-link router?