Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    F@ST2504n as a Bridge?

    This is a discussion on F@ST2504n as a Bridge? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Is it possible to use the F@ST2504n as a bridge? I cannot see anything in the Sky Firmware but ...

    1. #1
      Jacoby's Avatar
      Jacoby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      F@ST2504n as a Bridge?

      Hi,

      Is it possible to use the F@ST2504n as a bridge? I cannot see anything in the Sky Firmware but was unsure whether there was any settings in the custom firmware I saw on another post that would allow this.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: F@ST2504n as a Bridge?

      It is possible to connect any Sky router as the primary or additional router to any home network. To do this, please see the guide in the thread below or the links to alternative options in the same thread:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Jacoby's Avatar
      Jacoby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: F@ST2504n as a Bridge?

      Thanks for the prompt reply.

      I shall have a look at the pdf.

    5. #4
      Jacoby's Avatar
      Jacoby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: F@ST2504n as a Bridge?

      Just a quick thought... Ive had a look at the guide and correct me if I'm wrong but this requires you to connect the routers/AP's together with either a cat5 or HomePlug connection. What I would like to achieve is a wireless bridge. Which I know can be done as I am running one now using an old Buffalo GH54 flashed with dd-WRT.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: F@ST2504n as a Bridge?

      You are correct in spotting that the guide specifically states that you need to connect the two routers physically with either an Ethernet cable or a pair of HomePlugs.

      Technically it is possible to connect two routers via a WiFi connection, but not with Sky's firmware or the standard firmware found in most routers.

      You will either need to find a custom firmware, which does not yet exist for the Sagem 2504N, or purchase a WiFi Extender.

      Another option is to get a HomePlug that can work as a WiFi hotspot.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Jacoby's Avatar
      Jacoby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: F@ST2504n as a Bridge?

      Thanks for the clarification

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION