Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    PPPoA to MER?

    This is a discussion on PPPoA to MER? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I realise there is no user benefit by being on MER and I am currently quite happy on PPPoA . ...

    1. #1
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      PPPoA to MER?

      I realise there is no user benefit by being on MER and I am currently quite happy on PPPoA . However, I was wondering what the trigger was for being moved to MER. Currently the exchange has been unbundled but our phone line is still BT Openreach.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      I don't think you will go on MER until the following is in place.
      You have your phone rental with Sky.
      Your exchange is upgraded by Sky.
      You are moved to SVBN

      But I could be wrong, which if I am, will soon be pointed out

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts
      Not one to disagree

      I was moved to mer via a fw upgrade to my v1 white router. The fw broke the router, well at least the ip reservation part.

      I'm on sky unlimited calls are with sky but line rental is with BT so I'm not on the Svbn.

    5. #4
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs up Re: PPPoA to MER?

      Thanks Isitme and reddwarfcrew for your replies. I am not on SVBN as I opted out then they first introduced it even though I pay Sky line rental. It must be down to some upgrade then at the exchange.

      If that is true probably no one on Loughborough exchange is on MER??? Anyone???

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      To my knowledge - provided you're on an ISAM, you can be switched to MER (IPoE). It's a batch process carried out from time to time rolling customers over to MER. And you can still be connected to an ISAM even if you're not on SVBN.

    7. #6
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      I always wondered the same thing. This morning, I received a letter from Sky to say that we're being moved to their new network on a date in January, so I suspect this is when we'll be moved to MER.

    8. #7
      JPL's Avatar
      JPL
      JPL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      286
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

      Re: PPPoA to MER?

      The change appears not be a final one.

      My normal connection type has been MER for some time, but when the router failed a couple of months ago I used one of my old routers (a Thomson ST585v5) without any problem while awaiting the replacement from Sky. The ST585 was configured for PPPoA; in fact I think it is not even capable of handling MER.
      JPL

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION