Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Boot up problem

    This is a discussion on Boot up problem within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Since we started using the sky router (F@ST2504n), we've got 2 PCs that upon boot up take 5-10 minutes to ...

    1. #1
      Crimsonsky's Avatar
      Crimsonsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Boot up problem

      Since we started using the sky router (F@ST2504n), we've got 2 PCs that upon boot up take 5-10 minutes to establish a stable internet connection. If you try to use the internet during that time, connectivity is lost and you have to wait even longer. The router itself isnt losing net connectivity (other devices are still working), and the 2 PCs dont appear to be losing their network connection either. They just report no internet connectivity.
      I cant even say its restricted to boot up either, sometimes it'll just drop connectivity like this and you have to patiently wait for it to decide its back.

      1 PC is a desktop thats connected via ethernet, the other is a laptop connected wirelessly. The only common elements are Windows 7 (the other PCs are Vista & OSX) and the router. Before we got sky broadband, we were using a Draytek router without a problem.

      I have people nagging me to fix this, but I have absolutely no clue. Any bright ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Boot up problem

      I suggest you go to the manufacturers site and download the latest drivers for your adapters. Do not believe Windows when it says you have the latest drivers, that is not always the case.
      Also have a look at this MS article -
      Windows 7 occasionally drops the wireless connection - Microsoft Answers

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Boot up problem

      If that doesn't work try assigning a Static IP address for the problem computer. If it works for one (ie the Ethernet connection) try another static address for the WiFi connection. I'd try IP 192.168.0.101 (and then 102 for the 2nd computer) with a Submask of 255.255.255.0 and a Gateway of 192.168.0.1. DNS would be 192.168.0.1. Goof luck.

    5. #4
      Crimsonsky's Avatar
      Crimsonsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Boot up problem

      Some progress I think!

      That MS article suggests turning off the IP Helper Service which I've just done. Rebooted and I could use the internet immediately. Might be a fluke but looks promising. This was on the wired PC too. I'll try doing the same on the laptop.

      If that doesnt help I'll try the static IP (I had all the machines on static IPs on our old router just never got around to setting it back up again).

      Many thanks for your help.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Boot up problem

      If that doesnt help I'll try the static IP (I had all the machines on static IPs on our old router just never got around to setting it back up again).
      That is a point, did you set the adapters back to connect automatically? If you still have the old routers settings enabled, that may be a problem. Win7 has an IPv4 setting which allows connection to an alternate network, even if you are using a fixed address, but I am not sure how efficiently this works.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION