Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    ICMP Flood

    This is a discussion on ICMP Flood within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello, i have just been icmp flooded i have contacted the isp's of the ips via phone,etc and they refuse ...

    1. #1
      TomM's Avatar
      TomM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ICMP Flood

      Hello,
      i have just been icmp flooded i have contacted the isp's of the ips via phone,etc and they refuse to take any action.
      my only option is to block icmp through my router could anyone please tell me how to do this?

      Thanks,
      Tom Mcloughlin.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: ICMP Flood

      This is a form of a DDoS attack. Check to see if your router has been set to respond to 'Pings'. If so, disable that option.

      Take a look at your own set up too. Make sure that you haven't inadvertently picked up some nasty by scanning any device attached to your network. Check with on-line AV scanners & also download & install any anti-Malware software (MalwareByte's Anti-Malware is very good). Also check out with Advanced SystemCare.

      Once you are happy that everything is clean, reset your router to see if you can change your IP address. If it doesn't change, switch it off tonight and power it on in the morning, this should provide you with a new address.

      Also ensure that any torrent software you are using has been maintained correctly. A lot of public torrents are plagued with silly people who want to attack people in this manner.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ICMP Flood

      Did you action any of the suggestions in your last post?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-r...tml#post342432

      It always helps to know what you have tried.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      WheelNutWalter's Avatar
      WheelNutWalter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCHEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: ICMP Flood

      A firewall isn't going to help you. The ICMP packets are still going to quench your line, whether your router responds to them or not.

      Disabling ICMP does not improve security, and I would strongly suggest that you don't do this. ICMP isn't just used for echo (or ping) requests, it is used to negotiate many settings used by TCP and UDP traffic (e.g. MTU).

      If you can specifically block ICMP echo request/reply, then it won't hurt, but again, it isn't going to help you, and just prevents you (or your ISP) from performing diagnostics on your connection.

      If you have a dynamic IP address from your ISP, then the best course of action is to reboot your router, as it is likely that you will get assigned a new IP address that is no longer being targeted.

      If you are on a static IP, contact your own ISP, as they will be able to put measures in place to stop the ICMP flood from saturating your line.

      Hope that helps.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION