Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 36

    Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

    This is a discussion on Get the new Sky router, or buy my own? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My Netgear DG834GT is now dropping it's wireless on a regular basis, but then again it's 4 years old so ...

    1. #1
      Xorro's Avatar
      Xorro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Hine Hub 3
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

      My Netgear DG834GT is now dropping it's wireless on a regular basis, but then again it's 4 years old so I'm probably lucky it lasted that long!

      Am I best off to get the new Sagem router from Sky, or buy my own router?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

      The choice is your.

      So far there have been no significant reported issues on this forum regarding the new Sagem 2504N from Sky.

      You may wish to download and install inSSIDer first. The actual problem could be caused by something a little more basic, such as a large number of WiFi routers in your local area on the same channel (or close to it) as your router.

      If this is the case, you could change the WiFi settings on the router so that you can use a new channel.

      In my case I was getting over 40 WiFi routers within reach of my lounge, so I have changed to a router that uses the 5GHz channels. This will normally also require you to change your computer's WiFi adaptor as most do not come with the ability to access this frequency. I've had mine a few months now & I'm still the only one using the 5GHz channels.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      GrimTech's Avatar
      GrimTech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWBWAT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Bridgwater, UK
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

      As @Scubbie said, The choice is yours, I've been using the Sagemcom 2304n since the day I got Sky, It's been great so far

    5. #4
      Xorro's Avatar
      Xorro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Hine Hub 3
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?caked

      Thanks Scubbie. I have checked for other wifi signals already.

      Might go with the Sky sagem, will be a pain having to set up all the port forwarding stuff again :-(

      I thought the new Sagems had dodgy power supplies?

    6. #5
      GrimTech's Avatar
      GrimTech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWBWAT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Bridgwater, UK
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?caked

      Quote Originally Posted by Xorro View Post
      Thanks Scubbie. I have checked for other wifi signals already.

      Might go with the Sky sagem, will be a pain having to set up all the port forwarding stuff again :-(

      I thought the new Sagems had dodgy power supplies?
      Mine has been plugged into the wall since day one, nothing wrong with it, so far

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

      The PSU problem in the old 2504 routers did not show up until a long period of use. None of the new ones have been running long enough to be able to say whether they have corrected the problem. Let's hope they have.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Xorro's Avatar
      Xorro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Hine Hub 3
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

      Just thought, is it worth upgrading the firmware on the netgear router?

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

      If your WiFi is dropping because the hardware is failing, then a different firmware is unlikely to resolve anything.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Xorro's Avatar
      Xorro is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Hine Hub 3
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

      I spoke to Sky they suggested a few things, but they've not worked.

      To buy a new router from the is 35, so I think I will buy my own.

      Any recommendations?

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Get the new Sky router, or buy my own?

      This is a loaded question.

      To start with it would help to establish what you budget is & what you would like from your router (other than a good WiFi connection )?

      Wireless n routers can cost as little as 15, but can also cost as must as 150+.

      Whilst it isn't a top of the range product, based upon a lack of complaints on this forum since it's launch in August, I would suggest that for 35 the latest Sky router is good value for money.

      Take a read of Exdee's article to see what a difference can be made by picking one router over another, based on the equipment in the exchange:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...est-speed.html

      Personally I have a Netgear DGND3700 but until the issues with the firmware are resolved I am reluctant to recommend it to anyone just now. There is a new firmware release promised for this month, but no further reports are available just yet.

      However I am using a beta firmware and it is a lot better than when it was first released. The WiFi is also very solid.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION