Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Can I use a Sky dg934g as a repeater?

This is a discussion on Can I use a Sky dg934g as a repeater? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, I'm a newbie so apologies if I've posted this in the wrong place. I am currently using a ...

jojohuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Thanks

Can I use a Sky dg934g as a repeater?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie so apologies if I've posted this in the wrong place.

I am currently using a netgear (sky branded) dg934g as my main router. Unfortunately the only working telephone line in the house is upstairs (which the router is plugged into) so I'm getting a bad wi-fi strength downstairs, and I also can't plug in my Sky HD box to start using the Sky Anytime + service.

I've just been to PC world and they've told me to buy an N series router and use this as my main one (to improve wi-fi strength). Therefore I have purchased a Belkin Surf N300 router that I want to put in upstairs andand then I can use the netgear router downstairs as a repeater to plug my Sky HD box into (and hopefully give a bit more improvement to my wi-fi signal).

Firstly - is this possible?

I've spoken to Sky and they were not much help at all. If it is possible then I'd really appreciate if someone could give me instructions on how to do this.

Thanks so much in advance for your help.
      Last edited by jojohuk; 15-09-11 at 01:14 PM. Reason: updated router model purchased

2. Advertisement
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Thanks
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts