Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Sagem Router

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Over the past few weeks, it has taken my router longer and longer to find a connection ready for the ...

    1. #1
      kano3000's Avatar
      kano3000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem Router

      Over the past few weeks, it has taken my router longer and longer to find a connection ready for the internet, taking up 20 minutes.

      Now it will not connect for hours, the Ethernet cable light is on (right hand side), the two lights on the left are on but the @ light will not connect. It flashes orange then resets to try again after failing.

      I have run through this with Sky and gone through normal switch off, 10 second reset but to no avail and the next option is to receive a CD to reinstall.

      Does this CD exist on line anywhere in a file format, otherwise Iím missing the internet for the whole week (at home)!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      renouf's Avatar
      renouf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      phone up complain its now crashing on you and you would like to receive a new router

      (just getting a new router myself as i claimed the 2304n is crashing and now being sent a 2504n)

      and to be honest the cd aint gonna fix it

    4. #3
      kano3000's Avatar
      kano3000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      really? damn.

      they said a new router would be the option after the cd.....ain't no way i'm paying for it either!

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      Call again.

      A CD is not going to resolve the router's connection issues. Who ever told you that is either following a bad script or is talking out of their rear end.

      Sadly there seem to be quite a few people on the first line of support at Sky who don't know what they are doing.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      kano3000's Avatar
      kano3000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      Thanks. To be fair I did call yesterday on a bank holiday and spoke to some spanish guy.

      I've read there were some stability issues with this router a while ago and there was some firmware update available...anyone know where i can find that please?

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      Your router should have the latest Firmware installed now.

      Log in to the router and click on the 'Maintenance' tab. You should see the following:

      Firmware Version: 5.14.6.1a4N

      Regrettably it cannot be downloaded manually from anywhere. An earlier version appears on the CD which is shipped with the router, but i found that you cannot easily roll back to this version (5.12).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      kano3000's Avatar
      kano3000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      thanks for all your help, i'll give them another call tonight.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      The way you are describing the lights suggests you have the router lying flat. This is not recommended as it does not allow air to circulate and remove heat. The router should be stood up on the supplied stand, with clear air all around it..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      kano3000's Avatar
      kano3000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The way you are describing the lights suggests you have the router lying flat. This is not recommended as it does not allow air to circulate and remove heat. The router should be stood up on the supplied stand, with clear air all around it..
      really? i never realised it was essential to do so, i thought it was more of a 'space saver' option. unfortunately the stand etc are long gone.

      sky tell me that given the lights currently on display, it indicates that there is a software problem so i have to sit and wait for the cd to show up.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router

      Quote Originally Posted by kano3000 View Post
      sky tell me that given the lights currently on display, it indicates that there is a software problem so i have to sit and wait for the cd to show up.
      If you disconnect everything from your router and your router is still unable to connect to the Internet within 3 minutes (the Sagem 2304n takes around 2 minutes to connect), then how can this be a software problem that a CD is going to fix?

      What I am saying is that the router is totally independent of whatever computer you have connected to your LAN.

      Call again a get someone who actually knows what they are talking about.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION