Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Possible New User to Sky Broadband

    This is a discussion on Possible New User to Sky Broadband within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm considering changing from ZEN to Sky BB , firstly I need a little help with regard to the Wireless ...

    1. #1
      p.laver's Avatar
      p.laver is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Possible New User to Sky Broadband

      I'm considering changing from ZEN to Sky BB, firstly I need a little help with regard to the Wireless Modem/router Sky provide.

      I waiting for the Netgear 3800 to be released (Possibly in the next couple of weeks) this is only a wireless router. No ADSL modem

      What I want to do use the Sky Modem/Router just as modem hardwired from the phone socket to the 3800 router and then let the 3800 handle all my Wireless Internet and streaming etc.

      Now my questions

      Can I turn off the wireless part of the Sky modem??

      Is this a bad idea and should I invest in a stand alone modem without the wireless function.

      Any feedback would much appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Possible New User to Sky Broadband

      Yh no problem with that. Some people do that.

      Others just prefer a single unit.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Possible New User to Sky Broadband

      Can I turn off the wireless part of the Sky modem??

      Is this a bad idea and should I invest in a stand alone modem without the wireless function.
      The answer to your first question is yes, but this does not turn it into modem only mode. The nearest you can come to this with the Sky routers is to put the second router into the DMZ.

      I would say if you are set on the idea a dedicated modem would be the best way to go. Against this is the fact that you are no longer running a Sky router so you would be as well getting a full ADSL Router and be done with it. There are several now which have a built in WAN port which would allow connection to a fibre modem for future proofing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Possible New User to Sky Broadband

      As both Exdee & Tom have already stated, the WNDR3800 should work absolutely fine.

      I did something similar with the DGND3700 the other week and it worked perfectly well using the Ethernet WAN port. Currently I'm using the DGND3700 via it's ADSL port again.

      See this guide if you are unsure:
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...nk-dir613.html

      Other major advantages in doing this are:

      • should Sky ever get funny over the use on non-Sky routers, you're covered since it is the Sky router that dials up the servers
      • much of the services you might expect from a router are locked down by Sky's firmware, this would not be the case with the WNDR3800 as it would be handling all your traffic
      • if you are getting Sky BB Unlimited, and Sky TV, then you will be able to connect to Anytime+ (well at least I can with my DGND3700)

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION