Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

    This is a discussion on Ethernet Connectivity - how to? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I have recently started using Sky Broadband and been hugely disappointed in the speed (or lack thereof). I can't ...

    1. #1
      dredski's Avatar
      dredski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs down Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      Hi, I have recently started using Sky Broadband and been hugely disappointed in the speed (or lack thereof). I can't even use IPlayer with the laptop sat right next to the router. The PS3 is equally rubbish. So, I thought I would try the Ethernet connection (based on an assumption it would be quicker). I can't get it to be recognised. I tried the Sky process several times then wondered why I was bothering but can't get it to recognise a new connection either - even though when it fails and I test it, it says it's working. It's the new DLink router and both laptops I have tried it with are Sony Vaios. Wireless worked out of the box, no problem. Of course, after swapping suppliers I checked the exchange speeds - doh! I am not looking to do anything extraordinary but can't live with this. I live in Edinburgh.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      When you connect with Ethernet make sure your wireless on the laptop is switch off. There should be no problem connecting with ethernet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dredski's Avatar
      dredski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      Yup - it was definitely off - if only life were that simple....mind you it's probably something as daft as that.

    5. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      I would check the tcp/ipv4 settings to make sure everything is set to be 'obtained automatically'

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      Open a Command Prompt and type ipconfig /all hit Enter What is shown as you laptop IP address?

      What OS are you using?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      dredski's Avatar
      dredski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      I have tried Vista and Windows 7 - different laptops.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      Hi dredski,

      Firstly you may wish to remove your email address from the Exchange field in your profile. Spam bots will pick this up and your in-box will be full of spam, if it isn't already.

      Secondly, take a look at the following link:

      Setting a Static IP Address in Windows 7 - PortForward.com

      ...but at the point where it talks about setting up a fixed IP (the last picture near the bottom of the page), I suspect that you have already done this. You need to click on the radial button beside 'Obtain an IP address automatically'. You can do the same for the radial button beside the DNS Server selection too (i.e. set it to automatic).

      This process is almost identical for both windows 7 and Windows Vista.

      This should clear everything for you.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      dredski's Avatar
      dredski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      with wireless on it's 192.168.0.5.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      Your wireless adaptor will have a different IP address to the Ethernet Adaptor.

      Treat them as totally different items.

      If your problem is with the Ethernet, then it is this adaptor that you need to examine.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      dredski (10-08-11)

    12. #10
      dredski's Avatar
      dredski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ethernet Connectivity - how to?

      fixed - it was a stupid thing, as suspected. My lan connection was disabled, I enabled it, and checked settings like you suggested - nothing needed changed and off it went. Perfect, I am logged on like that now.

      Now to address the Sky speed issue - I have contacted them so let's see what happens.

      Thanks again, all

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION