Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky router and time capsule

    This is a discussion on Sky router and time capsule within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm currently with O2 and thinking of moving to sky but have a question. At the moment I am using ...

    1. #1
      mdp1673's Avatar
      mdp1673 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky router and time capsule

      I'm currently with O2 and thinking of moving to sky but have a question.

      At the moment I am using my o2 router to pass my broadband connection through to my time capsule and I'm using that for my wireless connections as it's dual band.
      Will the same setup work with the sky router?
      The reason I'm asking is I tried a netgear dgn2000 and couldn't get it working in the same way and I don't want to end up without using my time capsule properly.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky router and time capsule

      Will the same setup work with the sky router?
      Yes, and there is no reason why it should not work with the DGN2000, unless the TC has compatibility issues. There are many here who 'piggy-back' another router on to the Sky one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky router and time capsule

      My Time Capsual works perfectly with my Sky router. I can even remotely access the TC using my MacBook (you just need to set up a port forwarding rule in the Sky router to get this to work)

      I too use the WiFi via the Time Capsual rather than the Sky router.

    5. #4
      mdp1673's Avatar
      mdp1673 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cheers for the replies. Will get it ordered.

    6. #5
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky router and time capsule

      Not tried the remote access with Lion yet though, but can't see any reason why it still wont work.

      Everything else works as normal with Lion though.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION