Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15
    Like Tree1Likes

    SKY Router frustrations

    This is a discussion on SKY Router frustrations within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My old White Netgear DG834GT is on it's way out, it started at the beginning of the year with loosing ...

    1. #1
      boomish's Avatar
      boomish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY Router frustrations

      My old White Netgear DG834GT is on it's way out, it started at the beginning of the year with loosing connection and it's internal settings (LAN IP setup, ports etc).
      I phone SKY about it, after a lengthy conversation guy says he can't help as I restarted it and it's working , I explain it's definitely not well and can I get a new router, he says he will ring back but never did.
      I've had more disconnection's this week so I call again this time with the router not working, Well I just spent the last 1hour and 30 mins on the phone to SKY!!! the first 30 mins was getting through, on hold for 15 mins, spoke to some who passed me to some one else another hold for 15 mins then I got disconnected!
      So I ring back, another 10 min wait and sen the last 49 mins (it s says on my phone last call length) trying to explain my router is faulty. I'm an electrical engineer so I understand these thing's pretty well. I get the " it could be your wireless" I explain everything is hard wired by ethernet. "It could be the power socket", I explain over and over it's the ROUTER!! The router has actually gone yellow from it getting hot, and I've had it over 10 years! can I please get a new one, he tests the line talks to other advisors, and finally says he will upgrade it to technical help...they will call back and test the socket filters etc..

      Jeeeez...
      I am going to get a new router myself but I am concerned about not having a working SKY router in case something does go wrong with the line..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      You are supposed to switch the router off and then ring Sky complaining your broadband is not working and your router is not flashing any lights.

      Unfortunately that has become the 'procedure' for getting a router replacement. Otherwise they just don't buy it.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      I am concerned about not having a working SKY router in case something does go wrong with the line..
      Just hold on to the GT, if you have a line problem plug it in. They will probably then say that it is the router and send you a new one
      Giskard likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      I have a similar problem with my D-Link router, it normally works again after i reboot it a few times but before with the Netgear i never had to do it. If i ring them up and say its only flashing 1 light will i have to pay postage to return the D-Link router?

      Also, what router would they send to me? the same or there latest greatest router

    6. #5
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      OP, just suggest that there is smoke coming from it and that it's a fire hazard. A replacement will be sent out.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      Is there any benefit for holding out until 1st august when Sky launches it's new WiFi n router?

      It's 12 days away.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      From the little we know, it seems these will only be given out free to new customers or at a charge to existing ones. I don't know about you, but I would be reluctant to pay 35 for an unproven router when I could buy a proven one for the same money. Just about every new router Sky has released has been plagued with teething troubles. It took them a long time to sort out the firmware for the original router, which was, and still is an excellent router. The last one was no different.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      Let's not discuss the issues with the last router please...the nightmares, the nightmares

      I posed the question for people to comment on since it is known that the new router is due for release soon. Since the OP has the original router, someone at sky may look and replace it FOC with the new one.

      As for paying 35 for it, well I did get myself another router recently for 135 instead.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Giskard's Avatar
      Giskard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Since the OP has the original router, someone at sky may look and replace it FOC with the new one.
      Surely that would be the the case, that a faulty router should be replaced FOC?

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: SKY Router frustrations

      Quote Originally Posted by Giskard View Post
      Surely that would be the the case, that a faulty router should be replaced FOC?
      It depends on who answers the phone. If the router is out of warranty, like this will be, then they can charge 28 for the replacement router.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION