Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    DG834GT Modem only mode?

    This is a discussion on DG834GT Modem only mode? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm trying to put my router into modem only mode so I can use another router as the only router. ...

    1. #1
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DG834GT Modem only mode?

      I'm trying to put my router into modem only mode so I can use another router as the only router.

      How do I get it into modem mode? A lot of places say use the following link
      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?next_file=start.htm

      But that does nothing. 192.168.0.1 works fine.

      Can anyone help me please?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      If on the Sky firmware you can disable wireless using the setup options. On the other hand the dgteam firmware has a proper 'modem' and 'modem + router' mode.

    4. #3
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      Can I not put it into modem mode without that firmware?

    5. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      Like I said disable the wireless. That is the equivalent of Modem mode.



      Uncheck all three options.

    6. #5
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      But are there not any other things that the modem does such as routing, handling ports etc?

      I bought a time capsule which has a built in airport extreme. I want the time capsule to handle everything network related.

      Sorry if that's what your solution does, I just want to make sure, I don't know everything about this particular setup.

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Like I said disable the wireless. That is the equivalent of Modem mode.



      Uncheck all three options.
      That is nothing like 'modem mode', that is only disabling the network wireless which has nothing to do with the modem.

      The nearest you will get to modem mode with the Sky firmware is putting the second router into the DMZ. For this to have a chance of working the second router must have a WAN port, like a cable router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      Disable DHCP on your time capsule.
      Connect it the your DG834 using an ethernet cable.
      Assign the time capsule a fixed ip address (optional)

      That's about it.

      Every router with LAN ports turns into a Modem if you disable the wireless.

    9. #8
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      Yes the second router has a WAN port. Any ideas why I cannot get my router into modem mode using the link?

      Is it a firmware specific option or has sky blocked it?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      It is a firmware option, I have it on one of mine running DGTeam, I can't remember if it was available on the standard Netgear firmware. I doubt it.

      The Sky firmware will not allow it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: DG834GT Modem only mode?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is nothing like 'modem mode', that is only disabling the network wireless which has nothing to do with the modem.

      The nearest you will get to modem mode with the Sky firmware is putting the second router into the DMZ. For this to have a chance of working the second router must have a WAN port, like a cable router.
      It's a simple concept of foreseeing what someone would actually want.

      People come here asking for things they don't need all the time. Now you can either get in to the technical stuff. Or give them a solution that works.

      This bit below should have given you the clue really..

      Quote Originally Posted by thedon_1 View Post
      But are there not any other things that the modem does such as routing, handling ports etc?
      Quote Originally Posted by thedon_1 View Post
      Yes the second router has a WAN port. Any ideas why I cannot get my router into modem mode using the link?

      Is it a firmware specific option or has sky blocked it?
      Blocked by Sky.
      The original netgear firmware has it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION