Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Sagemcom F@ST2304 - Help Blocking Access

    This is a discussion on Sagemcom F@ST2304 - Help Blocking Access within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello All, Need a bit of help with a recently purchased Sky Router. I previously had a Netgear, which needless ...

    1. #1
      Nataliejade's Avatar
      Nataliejade is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Sagemcom F@ST2304 - Help Blocking Access

      Hello All,

      Need a bit of help with a recently purchased Sky Router.

      I previously had a Netgear, which needless to say was alot easier to monitor/deny access for my 15 year old son.

      He has been using Skype, which hasnt been being used for the best of reasons by him.

      I need to know if possible a way of blocking Skype, or blocking Video Calls for anything?

      Im getting to wits end with it, ive blocked the keywords. But, im guessing as he already has this downloaded its not stopping it.

      Alternatively, is there anyway I can remotely block IP/MAC addresses, or completely turn off the router so that he cannot access it at certain times?

      I know I could do this with my Netgear, but Sky doesnt seem so straightforward!

      Thank you in advance for your replies.

      Natalie



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304 - Help Blocking Access

      Try blocking www, www2, ftp and throw in http for good measure. Block always or by schedule.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304 - Help Blocking Access

      You could always extract the log in details from the Sagem 2304n and set up the Netgear to work again.

      The Sky Firmware for their routers isn't particularly user friendly and the Sagem 2304n is slow to respond.

      I would also highly recommend that you back up the settings on the Sagem. It made my life a lot easier when I was testing it.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Snicholls's Avatar
      Snicholls is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYACO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304 - Help Blocking Access

      one thing you could try dependant on his Knowledge is lock the .exe
      Super ExeLock: Exe Password, Exe Lock, EXE Password Protector, Password Protect Program, Lock Program, Lock Exe File, Lock Exe, LockExe, ExeLock

      another is you could run a program called Wireshark to find the port that skype runs on (unless it says in the options) and block that port on the router in the Firewall Rules.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION