Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

    This is a discussion on Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question.............. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All Why can't Sky let the customer decide whether to have a Sky branded Router which is pre setup ...

    1. #1
      Seville's Avatar
      Seville is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      Hi All


      Why can't Sky let the customer decide whether to have a Sky branded Router which is pre setup for the customers premises and will work out the box for the customer also resulting in a low level of support for the inexperienced I.T. people out there and basically perfect for people who do not know or care what is under the lid of the Router in both config or security

      OR

      if the customer opts out and wants to use a Router of their choice which will allow the experienced customer set up their home Network as they choose allowing them the option to VLAN their data Network from their Video On Demand, secure their Network as they see fit on the understanding that Sky will not offer Router support to these opt out customers using their own Routers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      Whilst it is technically against Sky's T&Cs, currently no one is being penalised for using their own routers.

      Steps are being made to crack Sky's MER system, but PPPoA is still working.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      chrisrr's Avatar
      chrisrr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      Hi there,
      Arrived here as a result of Googling the same issue. I have a friend whose Sagem router has just failed, and she has been told she will have to wait till end of week for a replacement. I offered to replace with another router I have spare, but Sky said you can only use the Sagem router with Sky. Apart from ridiculous this is highly inconvenient. Is there a way to get round this? How would one set up a non-Sagem router please?
      Really appreciate any help with this.
      Cheers
      Chris

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      If your friend is able to extract the sign in details from the router, then she could use a non-Sky router.

      The details and warnings for getting the log in details are in this section of this forum:

      Extracting Sky Router passwords

      She will need a router that supports ADSL2+.

      The connection details otherwise are:

      Encapsulation = PPPoA
      Multiplexing method = VC-Mux (or VC Based)
      VPI = 0
      VCI = 38
      Transfer mode = ATM
      MTU = 1500

      Some have found that they have needed to 'spoof' the WAN MAC address. I used to use a Netgear DGN2000 and am currently using a Netgear DGND3700 and have not needed to spoof the MAC address with either of them.

      I have also temporarily used an old Edimax router. This too didn't require me to spoof the MAC address.

      The most import thing is to enter the correct details when using the tools to obtain the sign in details. Copy & paste is the safest method, storing them in a notepad document is also highly recommended.

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      UbuntuBhoy's Avatar
      UbuntuBhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      I am in a similar position, the power supply has failed for my Sky Sagem router, and it will be the end of the week before they can get a replacement to me. I have tried the Password Generator, and have saved the username/password combination it gave me.

      I am trying to connect using a Belkin G+ MIMO router, but having no luck at all, I cant find anywhere to put in the transfer rate, or the MTU value. I can see the router try and connect, but after a couple of seconds the internet light just goes red.

      Can anyone offer any help in getting this outer to connect.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      If you can't put in the MTU value of 1500, then standard figures do work fine.

      Currently mine is set to 1400 on my DGND3700 as it cannot take the value of 1500.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      Are you sure it is an ADSL router? The Belkin G+ MIMO comes in both flavours.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      UbuntuBhoy's Avatar
      UbuntuBhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      Yeah, ts a ADSL 2+ modem/router.

      Managed to change the MTU using PPPoE, then switching back to oA, but still no connection.

      Begining to wonder if the username/password might be wrong.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      I always recommend copying and pasting these, but if you can't get into the router, that would be a problem. You can type the details into the generator and c & p them from there. Remember there are no ohhs in the mac address only zeros and be careful with Bs and 8s they can look very similar. Maybe a magnify glass?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      UbuntuBhoy's Avatar
      UbuntuBhoy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router or non Sky Router - that is the question..............

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I always recommend copying and pasting these, but if you can't get into the router, that would be a problem. You can type the details into the generator and c & p them from there. Remember there are no ohhs in the mac address only zeros and be careful with Bs and 8s they can look very similar. Maybe a magnify glass?
      I'm old, but not that old yet. The Mac address aint an issue, but the default Key does have a O/0 possibility.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION