Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Why can i not get into this page !!

    This is a discussion on Why can i not get into this page !! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have recently switched to SKY and today tried to access a website which enables me to work. www.theice.com Cannot ...

    1. #1
      shaqster's Avatar
      shaqster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Why can i not get into this page !!

      I have recently switched to SKY and today tried to access a website which enables me to work.

      www.theice.com

      Cannot get any access at all and i know the website is working as i can access it from my phone.

      Every other website i try to access is fine.

      Spoke to IT people at www.theice.com and cleared out all caches, tried accessing with firewalls and anti virus disabled and still no joy.

      Have tried 3 different computers to access it and still nothing.

      Run a ping test and it comes back Timed out.

      IT people at www.theice.com seem to think that the router is blocking it.

      Have spoken to SKY and they ran through similar tests and are as as baffled as i am and are working on it.

      Changed DNS numbers and still no joy.

      Changed browser from IE to Google Chrome and still no joy.

      Was lucky enough that SKY sent me 2 D-Link routers, have switched them over and still no joy on either way.

      Hunted on net and was told to try to access using www.theice.com ip address.

      Nothing.

      Totally confused as was working on BT broadband 2 weeks ago !!

      Any ideas !!!

      HELP !!!!!!!!!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      Does your ip address start with 2 or 9?

    4. #3
      OldFourEyes's Avatar
      OldFourEyes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01260
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      It works OK for me using the links in your message. I'm using Firefox 5 beta and the original white Sky Netgear router, although I'm not sure if that would make any difference.

      Also works in IE.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      Fine for me too.

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      Does your ip address start with 2 or 9?
      9 (as does mine).

    7. #6
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      There have been a few problems with the ip addresses that start with 2 not working properly but that's not your case. What happens if you conduct a traceroute to theice.com?

      Go to CMD -> type 'tracert theice.com' and copy paste the result here.

      Ps:
      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      9 (as does mine).
      Moderator Luxuries..

    8. #7
      shaqster's Avatar
      shaqster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
      (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

      C:\Documents and Settings\Authorised User>tracert theice.com

      Tracing route to theice.com [63.247.112.10]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 1 ms 2 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 615 ms 187 ms 582 ms 5ac987be.bb.sky.com [90.201.135.190]
      3 351 ms 88 ms 245 ms 10.245.143.1
      4 602 ms 462 ms 595 ms te0-6-0-7.er11.enslo.ov.easynet.net [89.200.135.
      205]
      5 595 ms 238 ms 78 ms prs-b7-link.telia.net [213.248.89.117]
      6 260 ms 418 ms 498 ms prs-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.252.141]
      7 120 ms 110 ms 286 ms ash-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.251.98]
      8 216 ms 248 ms 273 ms qwest-119092-ash-bb1.telia.net [213.248.88.178]

      9 412 ms 165 ms 165 ms cer-edge-12.inet.qwest.net [205.171.139.66]
      10 * * * Request timed out.
      11 * * * Request timed out.
      12 * * * Request timed out.
      13 * * * Request timed out.
      14 * * * Request timed out.
      15 * * * Request timed out.
      16 * * * Request timed out.
      17 * * * Request timed out.
      18 * * * Request timed out.
      19 * * * Request timed out.
      20 * * * Request timed out.
      21 * * * Request timed out.
      22 * * * Request timed out.
      23 * * * Request timed out.
      24 * * * Request timed out.
      25 * * * Request timed out.
      26 * * * Request timed out.
      27 * * * Request timed out.
      28 * * * Request timed out.
      29 * * * Request timed out.
      30 * * * Request timed out.

      Trace complete.

      C:\Documents and Settings\Authorised User>

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      That's falling outside the Sky network, could be a peering issue - but no one would be able to view it otherwise
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      No problem here ether, here's my trace, it seems to take a different route, but I am not on SVBN
      Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
      Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

      C:\Windows\system32>tracert 63.247.112.10

      Tracing route to theice.com [63.247.112.10]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 2 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 33 ms 24 ms 26 ms cr0.esban.uk.easynet.net [87.87.251.7]
      3 21 ms 22 ms 22 ms 87.87.131.97
      4 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms ip-89-200-131-153.ov.easynet.net [89.200.131.153]
      5 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms 195.50.122.113
      6 34 ms 34 ms 34 ms ae-34-52.ebr2.London1.Level3.net [4.69.139.97]
      7 103 ms 102 ms 103 ms ae-41-41.ebr1.NewYork1.Level3.net [4.69.137.66]

      8 103 ms 103 ms 103 ms ae-4-4.ebr1.NewYork2.Level3.net [4.69.141.18]
      9 102 ms 102 ms 103 ms ae-1-51.edge2.NewYork2.Level3.net [4.69.138.195]

      10 102 ms 102 ms 102 ms 0.xe-1-0-0.BR2.NYC4.ALTER.NET [204.255.173.53]
      11 178 ms 105 ms 105 ms 0.ae2.XL4.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.3.117]
      12 128 ms 128 ms 127 ms 0.ge-4-3-0.XL4.CHI13.ALTER.NET [152.63.64.122]
      13 128 ms 126 ms 127 ms POS7-0.GW1.CHI13.ALTER.NET [152.63.69.181]
      14 127 ms 127 ms 126 ms theice-gw.customer.alter.net [63.125.110.130]
      15 126 ms 126 ms 143 ms 63.247.127.193
      16 128 ms 127 ms 127 ms theice.com [63.247.112.10]

      Trace complete.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      steve50's Avatar
      steve50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02477
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why can i not get into this page !!

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      There have been a few problems with the ip addresses that start with 2 not working properly but that's not your case. What happens if you conduct a traceroute to theice.com?

      Go to CMD -> type 'tracert theice.com' and copy paste the result here.

      Ps:

      Moderator Luxuries..
      Why is it not his case i see he hasn`t stated what his ip address starts with,check your ip add and if it starts with 2 keep rebooting the router until you pick up one that starts with 9

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION