Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    My connection stats are they slow?????

    This is a discussion on My connection stats are they slow????? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi guys i normally been reading the forums and never posted much but i took out a new contract for ...

    1. #1
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My connection stats are they slow?????

      hi guys

      i normally been reading the forums and never posted much but i took out a new contract for my Sky unlimited i currently have a Netgear DG934G (black)
      and they have sent me a D-Link one today. I cant say i had any problems with the Netgear it connects i surf and i take it off.

      I also have Sky Talk.

      Is there any value in my connecting the D-Link (as its newer and sky just sent it to me so must be better???) or just keep my Netgear connected? I read here things about SVBN etc not sure if it makes a difference with the connection i am using and router.

      I mostly use my internet for downloading/Gaming/surfing.

      stats (router switched on 2 days ago):

      Results from speed.io - Internet DSL Speedtest
      (Copied on 2011-06-16 10:27:47)

      Download: 4325 Kbit/s
      Upload : 702 kbit/s
      Connects : 1435 conn/min
      Ping: 34 ms

      (the above was done using wireless laptop connected about 2 metres away from router)

      Exhange info:

      Distance:- Direct:
      0.79 mi
      (appx)* By Road:
      1.5 mi

      Your BT Line Speed Estimation
      Fixed ADSL: 1024 (1 Mb)
      DSL Max: 3000 (3 Mb)
      21CN WBC: 3000 (3 Mb)

      ADSL
      RAG Code: AGEC

      Fixed: Long line green for 1Mbps, Red for 2Mbps
      RA ADSL: 512kbps and 256kbps available
      Exch Info: Exchange ADSL enabled
      Line Info: Compatibility issue found. This could be several things eg. existing ADSL connection, pending ADSL order on line, ISDN, DACS, TPON, LLU, some alarm systems.

      ADSL MAX

      RAG Code: AEGEGEC

      Fixed: Long line green for 1Mbps, Red for 2Mbps
      FR Exch Info: Exchange ADSL enabled
      RA ADSL: 512kbps and 256kbps available
      RA Exch Info: Exchange ADSL enabled
      FR Exch Info: ADSL Max available on this line
      Exch Info: Exchange enabled for ADSL Max
      Line Info: Compatibility issue found. This could be several things eg. existing ADSL connection, pending ADSL order on line, ISDN, DACS, TPON, LLU, some alarm systems.

      Router Stats:
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails My connection stats are they slow?????-sky.jpg  
      Last edited by mstar; 16-06-11 at 10:56 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My connection stats are they slow?????

      Plug it in and try it. See if it syncs any higher or gives you a higher noise margin,

      I have never heard of Sky sending out a replacement router without it being requested. Looks like a slip up, some other poor sod is probably patiently waiting on one arriving

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      mstar's Avatar
      mstar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: My connection stats are they slow?????

      TO get a true correct reading is it wise for me to set it up like my current configuration? (e.g Wireless enabled, channel, password etc as i did the tests using my wireless laptop)?

      Or just simply plug it in and see the results?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: My connection stats are they slow?????

      Just plug it in, remember you will have to change the password in your laptop to allow you to connect wirelessly. New password will be on the router label.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION