Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Think my router is dying

    This is a discussion on Think my router is dying within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Many things can leave your noise margin high. In fairness though, you have a very long line. Often members have ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Think my router is dying

      Many things can leave your noise margin high. In fairness though, you have a very long line. Often members have been advised to see if they can get their connections changed to ADSL (or G.DMT) when they are this long. This can often improve your speed a little.

      If you have tidied up you home connection so that nothing is interfering with it, and if DLM has completed, I would be tempted to call Sky and ask if someone can uncap your connection.

      You may get someone who doesn't know what you are on about, so you may need to call back a few times.

      Repost your stats when it has been completed.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      craney13 (10-06-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      craney13's Avatar
      craney13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      142
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Think my router is dying

      Thankyou scubbie, i remember speaking to someone before and they informed me that my line was capped at 4mb so i thought that would be ok as i will never see that speed. Is there a way of finding out via my router if i am on adsl or adsl2+?

      Thanks again

    5. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Think my router is dying

      Quote Originally Posted by craney13 View Post
      ...i remember speaking to someone before and they informed me that my line was capped at 4mb so i thought that would be ok as i will never see that speed.
      As things stand, your download speed is maxed out with ADSL2+.

      Quote Originally Posted by craney13 View Post
      Is there a way of finding out via my router if i am on adsl or adsl2+?
      The connection speeds are always divisible by 32. Yours are an odd number, no maths required in this instance.

      To confirm this, log into your router and click on the 'Maintenance' tab. In the section under 'ADSL Port' is a sub-heading 'Network Type'. Mine is currently show MER, which is also ADSL2+. If yours were on ADSL, then one of the fields would show 'G.DMT' and the 'Network Type' would be PPPoA (PPPoA can also be ADSL2+).

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      craney33 (10-06-11)

    7. #14
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Think my router is dying

      @ Scubbie: Broadcom chips vary a lot. For instance if I remember correctly one of your netgear routers has a broadcom chip but it still gives you a lower sync then your Sagem router (broadcom chip too). How would you explain that?

      The Billion routers are superior to what Sky supply you with. There is a lot of tweaking that can be done with these to push your speed up. One other thing they are popular for is stability for the longer lines.

    8. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Think my router is dying

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      @ Scubbie: Broadcom chips vary a lot. For instance if I remember correctly one of your netgear routers has a broadcom chip but it still gives you a lower sync then your Sagem router (broadcom chip too). How would you explain that?
      I know that the Netgear DGN2000 syncs at a lower rate than the Sagem 2304n. I don't know enough about router chipsets to be able to explain it all, so I would bow to better knowledge or personal experience of specific chipsets.

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      The Billion routers are superior to what Sky supply you with. There is a lot of tweaking that can be done with these to push your speed up. One other thing they are popular for is stability for the longer lines.
      As I tried to point out, there are many different routers out there. Whilst I appreciate the issues over matched chipsets, there are always other factors to consider.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Think my router is dying

      To confirm this, log into your router and click on the 'Maintenance' tab. In the section under 'ADSL Port' is a sub-heading 'Network Type'. Mine is currently show MER, which is also ADSL2+. If yours were on ADSL, then one of the fields would show 'G.DMT' and the 'Network Type' would be PPPoA (PPPoA can also be ADSL2+).
      You can't tell by that Scubbie, the Network type and Line Mode are two different things. MER can be G.DMT or ADSL2+ as can PPPoA.

      If you can divide by 32 then it is G.DMT ADSL2+ will always sync a few kb lower so will give a figure which is not divisible by 32. As an example the stats above will be set at 2752 down and 608 up. ADSL2+ reduces these to the figures shown.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #17
      craney33's Avatar
      craney33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Think my router is dying

      I just bought an RJ11 ADSL 2+ 1m cable from adsl nation as i think it might be a bit better quality than the adsl cable supplied by sky. One thing i have noticed though is that the sky adsl cable only seems to have to gold pins connected to the end of the plug where as the new adsl cable seems to have 4 gold pins attached to the end. Any idea what the difference is?

      cheers

    11. #18
      craney33's Avatar
      craney33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Braintree
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Think my router is dying

      Thinking of purchasing the billion 7700n think it would be a worth while investment?

      Is there any specific setting i would need to change i order for it to work like spoofing the mac adress from my sagemcom?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION