Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sagem 2304 - http 400 errors .. wtf?

    This is a discussion on Sagem 2304 - http 400 errors .. wtf? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, long time listener, first time caller. So I came back to SKY BB on the unlimited package. I got ...

    1. #1
      LarryDavid's Avatar
      LarryDavid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem 2304 - http 400 errors .. wtf?

      Hi, long time listener, first time caller.

      So I came back to SKY BB on the unlimited package. I got one of these routers. I have to say they are appalling. Nowhere near as good as the NETGEAR's they gave out previously (I still have mine thankfully).

      Anyway, the main problem I have with it is that trying to actually use the config pages on the router will give an HTTP 400 about three times out of 5. this of course makes it a bloody nightmare to use. The ADSL connection itself is fine and doesn't drop.

      So I'm figuring that sending it back is pointless? It certainly appears to be a firmware issue of some sort so new hardware won't really fix it. I found just one other report of this on here but it didn't offer any solutions or ideas, just that the user was going to send their router back.

      How on earth did this get through beta or trial testing if its this bad? Did it work OK originally and then get broken with a bad firmware update or something?

      For the record, I'm connected over ethernet not wireless, the wireless is disabled and the firmware appears to be up to date (5.14.6.1a4n)

      Thank the lord I kept the NETGEAR.

      Any ideas anyone? Or is it just a big pile of 'doo doo' and thats that?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LarryDavid's Avatar
      LarryDavid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2304 - http 400 errors .. wtf?

      Well typically right after I posted it, I remembered that I had Kaspersky installed on the laptop. Disable that for 5 minutes and hey-presto everything is fine. Not sure if Kaspersky is doing bad things to the packets/request going out, or its doing good things and the router is the one that's dumping good requests as bad but, hey ho, at least a possible solution is here for someone else should they need it.

      Tea anyone?

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Smile Re: Sagem 2304 - http 400 errors .. wtf?

      Phew! I thought for a moment we had something new there.

      Quote Originally Posted by LarryDavid View Post
      Tea anyone?
      Yes please, put the kettle on.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      LarryDavid's Avatar
      LarryDavid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peacehaven
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2304 - http 400 errors .. wtf?

      Have since replaced it with the latest version 2011 (was using 2009) and it seems to 'play' much better. Possibly just a problem relating to older versions running on Vista or something.

      Previous remarks about 'doo doo' are now retracted and I promise to take better care in future before I post something.

      Sugar?

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2304 - http 400 errors .. wtf?

      With all the recent history around the Sagem 2304n, it is easy to jump to conclusions at times. Respectfully you corrected things once you realised it was something else.

      Quote Originally Posted by LarryDavid View Post
      Sugar?
      Yes please, just a little.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION