Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router?

    This is a discussion on Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Does any of the Sky telephone support staff have any tools to remotely access or configure my Sky router when ...

    1. #1
      Hanna1983's Avatar
      Hanna1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router?

      Does any of the Sky telephone support staff have any tools to remotely access or configure my Sky router when I am being helped by them?

      I am wondering this because I am thinking of calling them about a router issue and I am not sure what they can really do. I know they can send out firmware upgrades.. but is there anything else?

      Thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router?

      You would have to enable 'Remote Management' for them to be able to do this.

      The default settings have this disabled.

      If you were to post your question on this forum, then I am sure that someone would be able to help you adjust the settings yourself.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Hanna1983's Avatar
      Hanna1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If you were to post your question on this forum, then I am sure that someone would be able to help you adjust the settings yourself.
      I may do if the Sky support team is unable to help me. Just wanted to find out what they can do to help before calling.

      Cheers

    5. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router?

      I don't think they are allowed to assist you remotely for security reasons. What exactly is the issue you are having?

    6. #5
      jo3y's Avatar
      jo3y Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router?

      Sky manage their routers through the TR-069 specification. DG834GT probably doesn't support this.

    7. #6
      Hanna1983's Avatar
      Hanna1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router?

      Quote Originally Posted by jo3y View Post
      Sky manage their routers through the TR-069 specification. DG834GT probably doesn't support this.
      My router should support this.

      What can Sky actually do with TR-069?

    8. #7
      Sky eService Team's Avatar
      Sky eService Team is offline Sky Team
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Corporate
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      BSkyB
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 17 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Can Sky control/access/change my Sky router?

      Hi Hanna1983,

      We are unable to remotely access your computer. We can run checks on your router from our end and take you through any troubleshooting steps. If you would like to contact an adviser within our broadband technical department you can do so here.
      Sky eService Team

      Sky Help Centre http://www.sky.com/help
      My Sky and Sky iD https://mysky.sky.com

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION