Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 38
    Like Tree1Likes

    New Sky Router?

    This is a discussion on New Sky Router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My Sky router has been dropping connection for the past month, not the phone connection but it's wired and wireless ...

    1. #1
      boomish's Avatar
      boomish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky Router?

      My Sky router has been dropping connection for the past month, not the phone connection but it's wired and wireless connection. Internet loses connection so I immediately try and log in to the router to check this is on a wired computer, I get no response from 192.168 etc so I know the router has gone hey wire. All lights are still going on the front, it's the same from a wireless connection.
      A quick reboot seems to cure it but it's becoming more and more frequent so I think the router is starting to go. Can I get a new router from Sky? I don't mind paying I really need the best possible router I can get, especially as I have a few "N" devices now.
      Any advice one what to do?

      Many thanks

      Alan


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Sanity's Avatar
      Sanity is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XL
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin XXL
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      173
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by boomish View Post
      My Sky router has been dropping connection for the past month, not the phone connection but it's wired and wireless connection. Internet loses connection so I immediately try and log in to the router to check this is on a wired computer, I get no response from 192.168 etc so I know the router has gone hey wire. All lights are still going on the front, it's the same from a wireless connection.
      A quick reboot seems to cure it but it's becoming more and more frequent so I think the router is starting to go. Can I get a new router from Sky? I don't mind paying I really need the best possible router I can get, especially as I have a few "N" devices now.
      Any advice one what to do?

      Many thanks

      Alan
      You have one of the latest routers which has a firmware issue, They are rolling out a firmware upgrade to everyone over the next few weeks, so it should cure your problem.

      They are unlikely to replace your router at the moment unless the firmware upgrade fails.

    4. #3
      boomish's Avatar
      boomish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Sanity View Post
      You have one of the latest routers which has a firmware issue, They are rolling out a firmware upgrade to everyone over the next few weeks, so it should cure your problem.

      They are unlikely to replace your router at the moment unless the firmware upgrade fails.
      Sorry forgot to mention I have an old white Netgear DG834GT with version V1.03.87 firmware, which we have had for I don't know how long it must be over 5 years..surely there is something newer and faster to use now?

    5. #4
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      The average life of a DG834GT has been 4-5 years in my experience. You can get a replacement from Sky for free. To keep the call short and sweet. Just turn off your router and then ring Sky explaining your internet is not working and your router is blank.

      Unfortunately you don't get to choose what router you want. You will probably get a Sagem 2304n which is rumoured to be enabled for Wifi N at a later date.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      boomish (08-06-11)

    7. #5
      boomish's Avatar
      boomish is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      16
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      Exdee thanks for the reply, I notice your info says your running a D-Link is this a custom router? is there such a router? I mean basically whats the best router I can buy/ hack/ get going with Sky?

    8. #6
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      The Dlink-2640s router was briefly supplied by Sky towards the end of last year and beginning of this year.

      You can buy any router to go with Sky. The username/password can be extracted from your existing router. It is against the T&C's to use your own router but currently Sky are not prosecuting this.

      If you are looking to get the maximum out of your line then you need to go to CMD and type 'tracert sky.com' and copy paste your stats here. These stats will reveal what equipment sky has in your exchange. If you get a router based on the same chipset as the equipment in the exchange then you will get better speeds.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      boomish (11-06-11)

    10. #7
      Tal71's Avatar
      Tal71 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      78
      Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      Sorry to but in, but I didn't realise it was possible to use CMD to see the:

      stats will reveal what equipment sky has in your exchange
      I have just done this and was wondering what equipment my exchange has, and based on this, what router would provide me with the best/better speeds. Apologise again for hijacking the thread somewhat.

      My stats:

      Tracing route to sky.com [80.238.9.179]
      over a maximum of 30 hops:

      1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
      2 22 ms 23 ms 23 ms bm1.lcwor-dhcp.isp.sky.com [94.0.162.190]
      3 22 ms 21 ms 20 ms 10.245.169.49
      4 40 ms 40 ms 39 ms ip-89-200-130-100.ov.easynet.net [89.200.130.100
      ]
      5 38 ms 37 ms 37 ms ip-89-200-130-101.ov.easynet.net [89.200.130.101
      ]
      6 90 ms 84 ms 76 ms ip-80-238-8-10.bskyb.com [80.238.8.10]
      7 * * * Request timed out.
      8 * * * Request timed out.
      9 * * * Request timed out.
      10 * * * Request timed out.
      11 * * * Request timed out.
      12 * * * Request timed out.
      13 * * * Request timed out.
      14 * * * Request timed out.
      15 * * * Request timed out.
      16 * * * Request timed out.
      17 * * * Request timed out.
      18 * * * Request timed out.
      19 * * * Request timed out.
      20 * * * Request timed out.
      21 * * * Request timed out.
      22 * * * Request timed out.
      23 * * * Request timed out.
      24 * * * Request timed out.
      25 * * * Request timed out.
      26 * * * Request timed out.
      27 * * * Request timed out.
      28 * * * Request timed out.
      29 * * * Request timed out.
      30 * * * Request timed out.

      Trace complete.

    11. #8
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Tal71 View Post
      I have just done this and was wondering what equipment my exchange has, and based on this, what router would provide me with the best/better speeds.
      A router with a broadcom chipset will be best suited in your case. Your D-Link 2640s has a broadcom chipset too. But you can improve your sync by getting a router such as a [ame="http://www.amazon.co.uk/Billion-BiPAC-7800N-Broadband-Wireless-N/dp/B002TOKGL8"]Billion 7800N[/ame].

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      Tal71 (09-06-11)

    13. #9
      pijh's Avatar
      pijh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      Hey, apologies much like Tal71. I'm after a Wireless-N router so was wondering which type would be suitable for me and my exchange's chipset.

      Traceroute has started…

      traceroute to sky.com (80.238.9.179), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
      1 www.routerlogin.com (192.168.0.1) 5.538 ms 2.481 ms 2.562 ms
      2 dr2.enlba.isp.sky.com (89.200.128.31) 28.128 ms 26.361 ms 24.799 ms
      3 vl192.ar8.enlba.isp.sky.com (89.200.133.186) 26.643 ms 25.238 ms 25.431 ms
      4 ip-89-200-130-101.ov.easynet.net (89.200.130.101) 32.584 ms 32.652 ms 32.619 ms
      5 ip-80-238-8-10.bskyb.com (80.238.8.10) 64.194 ms 53.745 ms 63.165 ms
      6 * * *

      Thanks in advance, SkyUser has been a tremendous help to me (as a lurker) over the past few months especially.

    14. #10
      billy_liar's Avatar
      billy_liar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRMOS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router?

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      The average life of a DG834GT has been 4-5 years in my experience. You can get a replacement from Sky for free. To keep the call short and sweet. Just turn off your router and then ring Sky explaining your internet is not working and your router is blank.

      Unfortunately you don't get to choose what router you want. You will probably get a Sagem 2304n which is rumoured to be enabled for Wifi N at a later date.
      Is that true that I should expect a replacement router for free?

      My four year old DG834GT lost internet connectivity over the weekend and after four days faffing about with customer services I have been charged 28 for an unspecified replacement. Should I be asking for a refund?

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION