Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sagemcom F@ST2304

    This is a discussion on Sagemcom F@ST2304 within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi All Apologies if a similar thread has alreay been posted. Ive just gone live with sky broadband, and am ...

    1. #1
      waynerp's Avatar
      waynerp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagemcom F@ST2304

      Hi All
      Apologies if a similar thread has alreay been posted.
      Ive just gone live with sky broadband, and am using the F@ST2304
      i was previously using a Netgear DGN3500, but im thinking of getting a dual band netgear dgnd3700, as im getting a lot of interferance from neighbours broadband.
      my questions are..
      1/ how long should i wait until i transfer over to the netgear?
      2/ is it possible to use another router other than the F@ST2304 to use the Anytime+
      3/ I have seen people on the forum saying they have download speeds of 17mb +. Is this possible using ADSL on Sky? if so how?
      Many thanks
      waynerp
      http://speedtest.net/result/1303259443.png
      Last edited by waynerp; 19-05-11 at 04:56 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      adamcooke's Avatar
      adamcooke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304

      Hi Wayne,

      You aren't officially allowed to use any other router other than the one supplied to you as per the terms & conditions. However, there are threads around which say how you can do this and get the ADSL username/password from your router (which you'll need to configure your new one). Also, if you don't use the one provided, don't expect to be able to get support and if Sky ever start enforcing their T&Cs you could be suspended or terminated.

      17mb+ speeds are available if on a Sky LLU exchange which I'm guessing you're not on otherwise you'd have this already. You can check your exchange details at SamKnows - Broadband Availability Checker.

      Edit: in fact, looking at your speed test (specifically the upload speed although your downstream is also higher than the ADSL Max maximum) I'd say you were on an LLU/ADSL2+ exchange but your line quality is limiting you to about 8Mbps. You will be able to get line noise stats from the router at (192.168.0.1 by default on the 2304n). It all depends on your distance from the exchange and the quality of the line inside and outside your home.

      Hope that helps.

      Adam

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to adamcooke For This Useful Post:

      waynerp (19-05-11)

    5. #3
      waynerp's Avatar
      waynerp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304

      Many thanks for your advice

      i'm just under 1 mile from my exchange and it says on sam knows that im have sky broadband/ easynet LLU.



      does this mean that easynet is LLU and not sky in my area?

      also would you know whaere i can find the noise stats from the router. i had a look around in diagnostics, maintenance etc and can't see anything
      regards
      wayner

    6. #4
      adamcooke's Avatar
      adamcooke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304

      Sky & Easynet are the same network. Grab your line noise/attenuation figures from the router.

      1. Goto http://192.168.0.1
      2. Click 'Maintenance'
      3. Enter 'admin' and 'sky' as the username & password
      4. Click 'Show Statistics'
      5. Screenshot/paste the data

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to adamcooke For This Useful Post:

      waynerp (19-05-11)

    8. #5
      adamcooke's Avatar
      adamcooke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304

      Also, if you've just gone live (i.e. in the last 10-20 days) you're probably in a DLM testing period. Take a look on the MySky area to see if it's currently active. DLM will change your speeds to establish the best speed your line can handle. It's best to wait until this has finished before worrying too much about the speed of the line. Certainly don't unplug/restart the router unless you absolutely have to during this time.
      Last edited by adamcooke; 19-05-11 at 08:00 PM. Reason: typo

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to adamcooke For This Useful Post:

      waynerp (19-05-11)

    10. #6
      waynerp's Avatar
      waynerp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304

      i 'officially' went live on tuesday, but the sky router didn't arrive until today!


    11. #7
      adamcooke's Avatar
      adamcooke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304

      In which case, leave things while they settle down but based on your line attenuation 10232kbps is about all you can expect.

      Once the DLM has finished, you can try connecting your router to your test socket and seeing if things improve (i.e. it'll tell you whether the quality of any extension wiring is causing you issues).

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to adamcooke For This Useful Post:

      waynerp (19-05-11)

    13. #8
      waynerp's Avatar
      waynerp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST2304

      your a star
      many thanks for your help

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION