Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sagem router drops connection when streaming

    This is a discussion on Sagem router drops connection when streaming within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Firstly thanks for reading this and I must apologise if this has been answered in a previous thread but ...

    1. #1
      Domsky's Avatar
      Domsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem router drops connection when streaming

      Hi,

      Firstly thanks for reading this and I must apologise if this has been answered in a previous thread but I'm just not sure what to look for in an answer.

      I have recently had to change my router from the old Netgear which I never had any problems with until it died to the new black Sagem. I also bought a new laptop which may or may not be part of the problem.

      My set up is:
      - Old Dell desktop running XP connected via old Netgear wireless dongle
      - Dell XPS laptop running Windows 7 connected through internal wireless
      - Original Squeezebox running through squeezebox server on desktop
      - Sky+ HD hard wired to router (rarely used)
      - Sony Blu-Ray hard wired to router (rarely used)

      The issue I have is that everything works fine until I start trying to watch stuff on my laptop through BBC iPlayer/Sky Anytime or stream music to my stereo through my Squeezebox when the connection just drops after about twenty minutes. I then switch the router on and off and it works for 5 minutes and then drops again, repeat as many times as I can be bothered until I give up.

      If it was just internet streaming I could understand it might be a problem with my connection but shoving the music through the server dropping indicates to me a problem with the router.

      I get the occasional message on my laptop saying that there is an ip conflict on my network but I'm not sure what to do to resolve this if it's an issue.

      Any help that you can provide would be greatly appreciated as I'm sorely missing my streamed tunes on an evening after the pub

      Thanks again in advance.

      Dom


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sagem router drops connection when streaming

      The IP conflict is one thing that needs to be looked at properly, but with regards to your streaming issues, the official suggestion for the present is not to use the Sagem 2304n for it's WiFi abilities.

      You need to disable the WiFi and either hardware everything for the present moment or connect an old router and use that for WiFi access.

      This is a measure which needs to be adopted until Sky can release a firmware that will correct the issues with the WiFi.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sagem router drops connection when streaming

      IP conflicts are usually caused by having one or more devices set with a fixed IP address and others being given out by the DHCP server. eg. You connect a device to the router which is set to obtain its address automatically and the DHCP server gives it an address of 192.168.0.2. You then connect a device set with an IP address of 192.168.0.2 this causes a conflict as the address is already being used by the router.

      In your position I would set all your PCs and devices to obtain an IP address automatically. Disconnect everything from the router and plug in or connect each device one at a time. Use a PC for the first connection and open the router settings, go to Advanced> LAN settings and add the PC's IP address to the Address Reservation List. Connect each device in turn, adding it's address to the reserved list. If you do have a device which requires a fixed address, give it a high one, such as 100 or 200, this will keep it out of the way of any 'guest' machines that want to connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Domsky's Avatar
      Domsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem router drops connection when streaming

      So I've been sent a duff router, that's just brilliant.

      Unfortunately hard wiring everything to my router is not an option. I was told when my last router gave up the ghost that it had to be an official sky router as other ones would not work. Is this not the case?

      I know mySqueezebox uses 192.168.0.2 so I'm wondering if it's having an issue with my Sky box as the problems seem to have started since I connected that up. Will see if I can persuade them to use different addresses.

      Cheers for you help.

      Dom

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Sagem router drops connection when streaming

      Quote Originally Posted by Domsky View Post
      ...I know mySqueezebox uses 192.168.0.2 so I'm wondering if it's having an issue with my Sky box as the problems seem to have started since I connected that up. Will see if I can persuade them to use different addresses.
      This could be the source of the problems.

      192.168.0.2 would be the first allocated IP address automatically assigned. If you laptop connects first, then the Sqeezebox will still try to take this address if it has been assigned manually.

      Because LANs have various IP ranges, you should be able to change the address.

      If you can, setting as Tom has suggested (i.e. 192.168.0.100 or 192.168.0.200) would be a good safe choice.

      If you can't change it, then it is possible to change the initial address assigned to anything. If you go down this router, then I would set the router to start assigning numbers from 192.168.0.30.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sagem router drops connection when streaming

      I was told when my last router gave up the ghost that it had to be an official sky router as other ones would not work. Is this not the case?
      Many use their own router, even though it is against the T & Cs. Have a look here for some pointers -
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...tions-faq.html

      With regards your addresses, you can leave the S/box as it is by plugging it in first. Then plug in a PC. Reserve the address of the S/box (2) and then reserve the address of the PC you have plugged in (3).

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION