Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

    This is a discussion on Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; We're going live on Sky Broadband on Wednesday and have had the Sagemcom F@st 2304 Router delivered today and I ...

    1. #1
      Izak's Avatar
      Izak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Netgear N900
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      We're going live on Sky Broadband on Wednesday and have had the Sagemcom F@st 2304 Router delivered today and I have set about transferring all the settings from my trusty old Netgear DG834G router.

      I've setup all the WiFi, IP address list and the Firewall Services (for my PS3 and Xbox 360).

      I then tried to set up the Inbound Firewall rules with the correct IP addresses but when I click 'Apply' after entering the rule details it returns to the main firewall rules page and the rule hasn't been added. I've tried it several times and each time it does the same, I've even rebooted the router.

      I've tried adding an Outbound Firewall rule and that worked okay, it's just the inbound rules that don't save.

      Has anyone got any advice? My Nethear router always added the rules without problem.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      Try using SimplePortForwarding
      Simple Port Forwarding | Simple Port Forwarding

      Use the setting for the Sagem 2504 or the DG934G, they will be the same.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Izak's Avatar
      Izak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Netgear N900
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      Thanks for your reply. I'll have to have a look at that when we get back online at home. But why is the router refusing to save the rules? Is it a firmware bug? The Sagemcom router firmware version is: 5.12.4a.4N. How do you go about updating that?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      I have found that the router is very slow for recording personal settings.

      Keep going and be patient, you have the most current firmware version.

      Once you have made all the necessary changes, use the option to save them.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Izak's Avatar
      Izak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Netgear N900
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      Thanks for your reply but I don't think it's just the router being slow. I'll describe what I do: In the 'Firewall Rules' page, I click 'Add' for an Inbound Service. When the Inbound Services page appears, I select a service I created in the 'Services' page, type the IP Address I want the rule for, select 'Allow All' and the click 'Apply' at this point the router thinks a bit then takes me back to the 'Firewall Rules' page but my new rule isn't there.

      I've tried it several takes with different rules and IP adresses. I've also left the router on for a few hours but the rules didn't appear.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      I have had severe problems setting up the router to work how I wanted.

      In order to make the WiFi more secure, I like to limit it's WiFi connections to known devices. Since some were friend's Laptops or mobile phones, I could allow it to add them automatically, I had to program them all manually by copying the details from my previous routers.

      My first attempt lost all the details and I had to restart.

      Each entry took around 45 seconds to a minute to record.

      This alone is unacceptable.

      You can read more about it in this thread:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-r...formation.html

      What I could suggest for now is to reset the router by pressing button on the rear of the router and starting again. This may be enough to clear the router's memory and allow things to work properly.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      Izak's Avatar
      Izak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Netgear N900
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      Thanks for your reply.

      I managed to get hold of SimplePortForwarding using a friends connection and tried it on my PC and Sagemcom router, it attempted to add the firewall rules/port forwarding but it ended up with the same problem I had - the rules are just not saving. I've actually found someone on the official Sky forums with the same problem: Sky Help Forum - Sagem Inbound Services - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum. It seems it is a faulty router.

      Can't believe I've found out I've got a faulty router before we even go live!! Great first impressions of Sky Broadband!!

      I've got the broadband username and password thanks to the online generator. I think I'll use my old Netgear even if it is against Sky's T&C's

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      The Sagemcom router firmware version is: 5.12.4a.4N. How do you go about updating that?
      I think the latest version is 5.14.6a4N, it will probably update soon after you go on line. From what I have read, it does not make much difference, but it may fix your ports problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Izak's Avatar
      Izak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Netgear N900
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Location
      Stockport
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sagem F@st 2304 - Adding Firewall Rules Problem

      Good news I think! I'm now on Sky Broadband, the Sagemcom router did an update and it looks like I can now add firewall rules without problem.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION