Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    New Windows 7 pc

    This is a discussion on New Windows 7 pc within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello there I am soon going to buy a new computer to go upstairs in my bedroom. The router is ...

    1. #1
      wbajoe's Avatar
      wbajoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Windows 7 pc

      Hello there

      I am soon going to buy a new computer to go upstairs in my bedroom. The router is downstairs connected to my other pc. How could I get internet on the upstairs pc via the router?

      My mate has a pc in his bedroom and the router is downstairs and he has a belkin network adapter? - would I need something like that? and how does it work?

      Regards
      Joe
      Last edited by wbajoe; 01-05-11 at 11:58 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Windows 7 pc

      A wireless adapter is the simplest choice, but does not always work too well. The alternate is a pair of homeplugs, one next to the router and one in your room. This shows how they work -
      Homeplug | Broadbandbuyer.co.uk

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: New Windows 7 pc

      If you buy a new laptop then it will have WiFi as original equipment and you won't need anything else. If you buy a desktop then you can buy a WiFi adaptor (either internal or external USB) or use a pair of Homeplugs. The latter are probably more reliable and easier to set up (you just plug them in - one near the PC and one near the Router and connect the cable to the router and the other cable to the PC). Take a look at 85mbps Homeplugs for powerline networking to see a good range from a reliable supplier.

      Take a look at Home - HomePlug Powerline Alliance to see how they work.

    5. #4
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: New Windows 7 pc

      or you could buy a 15 metre or longer ethernet cable going straight up to it but it will be messy with the cable trailing all over but it gives you the best connection to wifi

    6. #5
      wbajoe's Avatar
      wbajoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Windows 7 pc

      Thanks for the replies guys

      I think I will just use a network usb adaptor and connect it to my wifi connection. As having wires going up the stairs will be very messy

      Regards

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION