Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Netgear Router can't cope!

    This is a discussion on Netgear Router can't cope! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Please excuse my ignorance here but as far as I can see an Apple AirPort Express isn't a modem so ...

    1. #11
      Schrodinger56's Avatar
      Schrodinger56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router can't cope!

      Please excuse my ignorance here but as far as I can see an Apple AirPort Express isn't a modem so I'm still going to need my "unpredictable" Netgear wireless modem to supply the Internet to the APE. So I don't understand how the APE can be a better option when I'm still using the Netgear wireless modem.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router can't cope!

      The idea is you connect your Apple box to the Sky router by ethernet and turn off the wireless in the Sky router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Schrodinger56's Avatar
      Schrodinger56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router can't cope!

      Thanks for that but how do I turn the wireless off in the Sky Netgear router? As far as I can see the router is either on (all green lights) or off

      Also on the back of the Netgear router there's an ASDL socket which has a lead going from it to the phone socket on the wall then 4 Ethernet sockets which presumably connect the router to various computers via Ethernet cables so I presume I use one of these 4 sockets to connect the Sky router to the APE?

      Many thanks

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router can't cope!

      To turn the wireless off, open the router settings and click the Setup link, top left, scroll down and untick 'Enable Wireless Access Point' .
      Yes any of the ethernet ports will do, one end to the router and the other to the APE's ethernet port..

      I meant to add, until such time as you are properly set up, you may get a better response from the router by going to the wireless settings, and use the drop down box to change the Mode: to 'g only' it is then not wasting resources broadcasting on 'b' which I doubt you need. Remember to click apply.
      Last edited by Isitme; 24-04-11 at 08:55 PM. Reason: added info

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Schrodinger56's Avatar
      Schrodinger56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router can't cope!

      Many thanks.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION