Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 169
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

    This is a discussion on Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; one of them I wasn't sure if it was meant to be a zero or a capital O MAC addresses ...

    1. #41
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      one of them I wasn't sure if it was meant to be a zero or a capital O
      MAC addresses are hexadecimal, ie 0-9 and A-F, so if this was in the address it was a Zero. The network Key consists of capital letters only, so if it was there, it would be a capital O.

      I always advise copying and pasting the details from the Sky router on to the password generator.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Goooner1's Avatar
      Goooner1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      There are 3 MAC addresses associated with this router:

      * WAN - what is seen on the ADSL/Internet side
      * WLAN - Wireless LAN
      * LAN - Ethernet Cable LAN

      You need the LAN MAC Address. This is actually the same one that is printed on the sticker underneath the router.

      To confirm this, type 192.168.0.1 into your browser. Click on the 'Maintenance' tab. Enter the User Name (admin) and password (sky) details into the sign on details. Scroll down to where it lists the details for 'LAN Port' and you should see the same MAC address there.
      So just to confirm, I type the MAC in but without the ":" in between each pair of numbers or with? And the other thing is the name of the network also printed on the bottom of the router and that the network is called "SKY****A"? Sorry for being thick

    4. #43
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      You require the Network key. The 8 capital letters printed on your label and shown in the wireless settings of your router, not the SSID.

      The colons do not matter, but it is still better to copy and paste the LAN address

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #44
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Update:

      Well this morning I've pulled out my other Laptop and tried to have another go at updating the Firmware.

      Initially I tried to use the program on the CD ROM which claims to automatically runs all the necessaries to update the software. I thought: perhaps it has to have the CD ROM in drive D. Since both the other two PCs have it as another drive letter and other software in the past has had this problem, there was a possibility.

      Guess what? It failed.

      So I thought, now I've identified which file it is trying to load, perhaps I can use the router's built in facility to do the task.

      Guess what? It didn't fail!

      So what version did it install? You're going to love this one...

      I now have exactly the same version as before.

      System Details
      Manufacturer Sagemcom
      Model Number F@ST2304
      Firmware Version 5.14.6a4N
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pD030n.d23b
      So how does it feel so far?

      Very much the same as before so far.

      So where is the software located and what are the file names?

      Program:
      Windows: E:\utilities\Win\srtool.exe
      Mac: E:\utilities\Mac\srtool.app\Contents\MacOS\srtool

      Firmware: E:\utilities\cfe\F2304_5_12_4_4a4N_fs_kernal_NONE

      Judging by the version number in the filename, it hasn't taken.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information-router-stats-23-4-2011.jpg  

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #45
      jhs2lq's Avatar
      jhs2lq is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      I've just joined Sky Broadband and looks like I I have been given one of these terrible routers. Its now after the first 10 days and my line has been capped at 6mb despite being told that I should be getting between 10 and 20mb. My network now disconnects whenever I try downloading and I need to reset my router everytime. I've tried everything which has been suggested on this forum with no luck. Does anyone know when they may be issuing a new firmware?

    7. #46
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      So I thought, now I've identified which file it is trying to load, perhaps I can use the router's built in facility to do the task.

      Guess what? It didn't fail!

      So what version did it install? You're going to love this one...

      I now have exactly the same version as before.



      So how does it feel so far?

      Very much the same as before so far.

      So where is the software located and what are the file names?

      Program:
      Windows: E:\utilities\Win\srtool.exe
      Mac: E:\utilities\Mac\srtool.app\Contents\MacOS\srtool

      Firmware: E:\utilities\cfe\F2304_5_12_4_4a4N_fs_kernal_NONE

      Judging by the version number in the filename, it hasn't taken.
      Was that using the firmware upgrade link in the normal sky user interface? Or did you try the CFE's mini-http server on http://192.168.1.1, which is only available if the router is booted into recovery mode - and may resemble the D-links, below.


    8. #47
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      I used the Update option as shown in the picture below.

      I'll look at doing it the other way now.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information-sagem-2304n-router-upgrade.jpg  

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #48
      Nostromo's Avatar
      Nostromo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      I've lost internet connection even tho its saying I'm connected.
      But I can still check email

    10. #49
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      I pressed and help the Reset button for a little over a minute and it still didn't go into the Firmware mode.

      I also held it in as I powered on the router for a period of about a minute. This too failed.

      Considering the significance of this weekend, Scubbie is not a happy bunny!

      I have posted on the Sky forum to see what is happening with regards to the firmware. I trust that I will get a nice response shortly.

      Sky Help Forum - Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Issues - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #50
      Goooner1's Avatar
      Goooner1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Well, I've had another go, I copy and pasted the MAC directly from the router page, put the password in, cut and pasted the generated username and password into my old Netgear DGN834GT and no go, it gets an internet connection but won't connect to Sky.

      I've left it to get DNS and IP automatically is that correct?

      Any other settings I need to change? Or am I stuck with 2304 until they send me a new one, which hopefully will be better, but judging by these forums, probably not

     

     
    Page 5 of 17 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION