Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 10 of 17 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast
    Results 91 to 100 of 169
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

    This is a discussion on Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Scubbie Since identifying the issue of the TV I have not been blocked from browsing. Essentially it ...

    1. #91
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Since identifying the issue of the TV I have not been blocked from browsing. Essentially it appears that having set the TV's setting manually, I had programmed the 'DNS Server' setting to one of Sky's DNS Servers. However the TV wanted the router's IP address here instead.

      For the technically minded, the settings for the TV's network adaptor include the following:

      • IP Address
      • Subnet Mask
      • Gateway
      • DNS Server


      I had set the DNS Server address to one of Sky's DNS servers.
      This is exactly what DHCP does too. When setting up your device manually it's perfectly normal to input your gateway as your preferred dns server if you want to use the default DNS servers set on your router.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #92
      Ssscrudddy's Avatar
      Ssscrudddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Could anyone who is using their Sagem 2304n router please participate in a study on the following thread:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-r...fi-issues.html

      Many thanks,
      Scubbie
      I shall do that. As it stands I'm supposed to be getting my internet tomorrow. Before my internet arrives I have already come to the conclusion that this router is unstable with wifi enabled (& becomes unresponsive), & stable with it turned off.

      I have seen some posts that says once its connected to the internet, it gets an automatic firmware update which solves the issues with the wifi... so I guess I'll find out tomorrow.
      Is the pub open yet?

    4. #93
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Quote Originally Posted by Ssscrudddy View Post
      I shall do that. As it stands I'm supposed to be getting my internet tomorrow. Before my internet arrives I have already come to the conclusion that this router is unstable with wifi enabled (& becomes unresponsive), & stable with it turned off.
      Many thanks. The more who contribute towards this, the more useful the collected responses will become.

      As mentioned by myself in this thread and other places on this forum, I would love this router to work well and if I have made any mistakes I will admit them. However, so far the router has not been particularly brilliant.

      Quote Originally Posted by Ssscrudddy View Post
      I have seen some posts that says once its connected to the internet, it gets an automatic firmware update which solves the issues with the wifi... so I guess I'll find out tomorrow.
      What firmware update would that be?

      Mine's still on the original version and no one has mentioned any later version yet.

      There is a chance that you have become confused with the firmware update for the Sagem 2504 router. This does update it's firmware shortly after connecting (within days or so). The update fixes a few issues with LAN printers, for example, and prevents further attempts to extract the ADSL log in details.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #94
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Quote Originally Posted by Exdee View Post
      This is exactly what DHCP does too. When setting up your device manually it's perfectly normal to input your gateway as your preferred dns server if you want to use the default DNS servers set on your router.
      I understand that the router is a portal for DNS Servers for you LAN devices, referring to the DNS Servers that it is programed to refer to for further information.

      I also understand the principal of being able to refer to other DNS Servers by LAN devices. Many people on this, and many other forums, use alternative DNS Servers all the time for different reasons.

      In this case though, all my other network devices were either referring to the DHCP Server (i.e. the router) or had a DNS Server outside my LAN programed into their settings. The TV somehow was intercepting this access on an intermittent basis. This has caused me some embarrassment, but it was not an issue of my doing.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #95
      Ssscrudddy's Avatar
      Ssscrudddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      My router, still got no internet yet, so only tested locally, has the firmware

      5.12.4a4N

      Router becomes unresponsive with wifi enabled...

      A number of peeps have reported (the last few days) that once connected to the net, the router has recieved an automatic firmware update to

      5.14.4a4N

      Which seems to have solved the problem.

      My phoneline & therefore internet is due today, I will leave wifi disabled until I get the automatic firmware update, at which point I'll enable wifi again & let you know the results.

      Fingers crossed that they actually manage to find me (unusual location) I tried contacting Sky to give them the phone number to ring, but got no response!!!

      Edit. Phone line being installed now, arrived at 13.40. was due between 1300 - 1800
      Last edited by Ssscrudddy; 27-04-11 at 01:52 PM.
      Is the pub open yet?

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Ssscrudddy For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (27-04-11)

    8. #96
      Goooner1's Avatar
      Goooner1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      I've got 5.14 on mine, not sure if/when that changed, but it's been up and running 54 hours+ now without a hitch and I've downloaded 5 or 6GBs now over the last couple of days.

    9. #97
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Another update:

      I think that I mentioned earlier in this thread that I've posted on Sky's Help forum over the issues I've been seeing and what I've found.

      Well Robert suggested that I try a few things to do with the WiFi settings, which I completed.

      The shocker was that I managed to replicate the problem I'd been experiencing with the TV, but without the TV becoming involved. I also managed get a new-look for the BBC Home Page.

      Just to be sure, I had unplugged the TV and everything else from the router and could not get rid of the problem. It took a reboot of the Laptop and the restoration of the Router's settings to get things to return to normal.

      So I think that the TV was not now entirely to blame!
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information-new-bbc-home-page-redused-.jpg  

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #98
      bjorkiii's Avatar
      bjorkiii is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Location
      Teesside
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      You just get the impression that sky aren't interested in all these problems this sagem router is not fit for purpose . I,m having wireless disconnections 3 or 4 times a day and it just seems to be getting worse.

    11. #99
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Quote Originally Posted by bjorkiii View Post
      You just get the impression that sky aren't interested in all these problems this sagem router is not fit for purpose . I,m having wireless disconnections 3 or 4 times a day and it just seems to be getting worse.
      Hopefully the 'experiment' provided some useful information to help in diagnosing an issue. Certainly I'd not seen anything like it myself.

      With regards to your WiFi issues, could I please ask you to view this thread that I have created?:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-r...fi-issues.html

      If I can recruit you and ask for your participation, it would be very useful.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    12. #100
      Ssscrudddy's Avatar
      Ssscrudddy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01604
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sagemcom F@ST 2304n Information

      Strange results.

      I have already reported, that without an internet connection, therefore just Local access (file sharing) - Tower wired & laptop wifi - this router would hang after about 40 minutes.
      With the wifi disabled - both computers wired - there were no problems.
      Firmware was 5.12.4a4N.

      My phone line was put in yesterday & internet worked. I still had wifi disabled. Just my tower plugged in (wired) The router recieved an immediate Firmware update (& then rebooted itself)
      Firmware 5.14.6a4N.

      I used it for a bit everything was fine. I then plugged in my laptop - wired - & used that as well & everything was still fine. Surfed the net, did some file sharing, no problems.

      This I did for about an hour. Then I unplugged the laptop, rebooted it & turned on the laptops wifi.

      Then I turned on the router wifi, & within 40 seconds of my laptop connecting the router hung. No internet, no response from the router via wifi laptop, & no response from the router via wired tower.

      I rebooted the router & it hung again within 30-40 secs. I tried this a few times with the same results. (note on the previous firmware & no internet connection it would last about 40 minutes)

      I turned off my laptops wifi & shut it down. I rebooted the router & still it hung after about 30-40 seconds.

      I rebooted the router a few times, trying to get into it (192.168.0.1) from the wired Tower to disable the wifi, & eventually I was quick enough. Once the wifi was turned off the router was stable again.

      Missus got home from work, so I moved the router, connected laptop - wired - to it, & then ran an ethernet cable to the WAN my old Linksys cable router BEFSR41. (I have 2 ethernet cards in my tower, 1 is connected to the linksys router)

      We both happily surfed the net - wired - , no problems (wifi disabled on laptop & router) laptop wired to this router, tower wired to old router. this router wired to old router.
      ---

      Tower----wired----old router----wired----this router----internet

      This router 192.168.0.1
      old router 192.168.3.1 (& 192.168.0.3) I havent set it up but it was left like this from the last time I used it as 2nd router
      I cant file share accross the 2 routers, havent bothered to set it up, altho I think I have done so in the past on different kit...

      Turned on my tower, checked the router stats, uptime approx 11 hours ish (sounds about right) no change in stats or firmware 5.14.6a4N
      everything just fine. Enabled wifi on the router

      Unplugged the laptop, booted it up & turned on its wifi.
      Everything also fine, been on for about 4 hours now wirelessly (remember tower wired to different router so no file sharing) both computers can connect to the. net.

      I will try in a moment plugging my tower back into this router, with wifi enabled & see what happens

      EDIT unplugged the tower from the old router & plugged the tower into this router... & a few minutes later the router became unresponsive, no internet, no wifi connection, no wired connection!

      The damn thing doesnt like windows file sharing between wired & wifi
      Last edited by Ssscrudddy; 28-04-11 at 01:57 PM.
      Is the pub open yet?

     

     
    Page 10 of 17 FirstFirst ... 89101112 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION