Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    change of SSID no

    This is a discussion on change of SSID no within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello sky peeps, can any one tell me is it usual for sky to change your SSID number for your ...

    1. #1
      crafty1966's Avatar
      crafty1966 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01656
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      change of SSID no

      Hello sky peeps, can any one tell me is it usual for sky to change your SSID number for your netgear router with out informing you, it would appear this has happend to me and I found out by accident when my children could not use wireless connections.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: change of SSID no

      Sky will not change it, but sometimes this will happen if the firmware is upgraded. You should change the SSID to one of your own choosing together with the WPA key, which should be at least 12 mixed characters.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      crafty1966 (21-04-11)

    5. #3
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: change of SSID no

      If you are using the white dg834gt sky router as shown in your profile, then it is particularly important to change the wpa-psk key to something other than the default, as the default key can be looked up on the net.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to fuzzy logic For This Useful Post:

      crafty1966 (21-04-11)

    7. #4
      SadBloke's Avatar
      SadBloke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      313
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts

      Re: change of SSID no

      Has it really changed, or did your children try to connect to a neighbour's router without realising (easily done if both have routers with the default SSID)?

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to SadBloke For This Useful Post:

      crafty1966 (21-04-11)

    9. #5
      crafty1966's Avatar
      crafty1966 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01656
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: change of SSID no

      thank you, is it easy enough to do, i would not want to mes it up, i dont know what you meen by the wpa key I have the net work key on the back of my white netgear router is that it??

    10. #6
      crafty1966's Avatar
      crafty1966 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01656
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: change of SSID no

      thank you but it was the children that helped me find the problem, the ssid no would dissapear then re appear when i rebooted the router, thanks for your help

    11. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: change of SSID no

      I have the net work key on the back of my white netgear router is that it??
      Yes, you should go to the wireless settings of the router and change it. As Fuzzy pointed out the default is not safe and can be discovered easily by someone who knows what they are doing.

      When you are in the settings check that Allow broadcast of Name is ticked.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION