Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

    This is a discussion on Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Incase nobody has noticed this has almost the exact same chipset as the D-Link 2640-S D-LINK 2640-S BCM63281KFBG BCM4313KML1G 64mb ...

    1. #21
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Incase nobody has noticed
      this has almost the exact same chipset as the D-Link 2640-S

      D-LINK 2640-S
      BCM63281KFBG
      BCM4313KML1G
      64mb Ram


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by Pengwern View Post
      I've just received the same:

      MAC starts C8C.
      Packaging advice slip says "Sagem Ph2 Refresh Router UOM=1".
      Nice one. It is the same as what I have received.

      Quote Originally Posted by Pengwern View Post
      Stand on the left hand side ?
      The stand needs to be positioned so that where the PSU plugs in is uppermost. You should just be able to see the shinny silver aerial behind the grill at the top when you have done this.

      The pictures in the 'Sky Broadband quick Set-Up Guide' are correct, they just do not make it clear why this way.

      Quote Originally Posted by Pengwern View Post
      So is this the fabled router that has an N-capable chipset, but not enabled?
      Yep. There is a post elsewhere on this forum which hints that from July a new firmware will enable the WiFi n fully for this router. Check out the 'Sky news and announcements' section.

      Quote Originally Posted by Pengwern View Post
      Is it worth sticking with this router, or extracting my username and passy so I can use my own router which is configured with my IP address reservations, static routes etc?
      I have done so already. This is because the most recent firmware update on the Sagem 2504 prevents you from doing this. I have yet to check it myself, but others on this forum report that it does work. Follow the link for the Sagem F@ST 2504 in this link:

      https://www.cm9.net/skypass/

      I failed the first time, using the WiFi connection, but it worked the 2nd, using a wired connection.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #23
      harty10's Avatar
      harty10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      How do i apply for one of these new routers ?

    5. #24
      Nostromo's Avatar
      Nostromo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by harty10 View Post
      How do i apply for one of these new routers ?
      I wouldnt bother mate stick to what you have if it works the 2304 is plagued with problems.

    6. #25
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by harty10 View Post
      How do i apply for one of these new routers ?
      Try searching on eBay. There are bound to be thousands of them there.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #26
      mrbulldog84's Avatar
      mrbulldog84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      Incase nobody has noticed
      this has almost the exact same chipset as the D-Link 2640-S

      D-LINK 2640-S
      BCM63281KFBG
      BCM4313KML1G
      64mb Ram
      that is why I think it might be possible to flash the d-link firmware over the top and then we'd have access to SNR tweaking... l'm just too scared to do it right now, can't afford to lose the net, no spare router!

    8. #27
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by mrbulldog84 View Post
      that is why I think it might be possible to flash the d-link firmware over the top and then we'd have access to SNR tweaking... l'm just too scared to do it right now, can't afford to lose the net, no spare router!
      I wouldn't. The D-link uses a different password algorithm. So if the flash worked, it would generate a brand new password, from its Sagem MAC address using the d-link algorithm, which isn't likely to be valid.

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      If it worked, what would it be? A Dligem or a Saglink? Would it still be a Sky router?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Smile Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Would it still be a Sky router?
      If it took, it still wouldn't work properly, so yep, it would still be a typical Sky router

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by fuzzy logic View Post
      If it took, it still wouldn't work properly, so yep, it would still be a typical Sky router
      Good one

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION