Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

    This is a discussion on Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Sorry yan101, but this router is NOT WiFi n rated. WiFi n requires a minimum connection speed of 150mbps. Whilst ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Sorry yan101, but this router is NOT WiFi n rated.

      WiFi n requires a minimum connection speed of 150mbps. Whilst this router does offer improved WiFi coverage, compared to WiFi g, the maximum connection speed is only 72mbps.

      You could use inSSIDer to confirm this speed if you like.

      Interestingly the WiFi chip (BCM4313) used is suitable for WiFi n, it is also suitable for Bluetooth, according to the Broadcom website.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      yan101's Avatar
      yan101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      it does say 72mbps (n) on inssider. i just cant wait to get my new replacement router, i normally connect through powerline adapters but my pc wont recognise the router since i did a router rebuild over the phone with sky, it will only pick it up over wifi. it seems these sagem routers are a bit crap

    4. #13
      yan101's Avatar
      yan101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      managed to get connected through ethernet, when i did router rebuild over the phone it must have disabled dchp. turned it back on and it now sees the router. i also turned off the wifi and the broadcast in the router settings and im downloading with no cut outs so far. lets see if it stays this way

    5. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Any Firmware updates should always be attempted using a wired connection to the router.

      Some routers specify that you should use a particular port as well.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #15
      yan101's Avatar
      yan101 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      it was wired at the time of the update

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Woo Hoo!

      I had a knock on the door just now & low & behold I now have a Sagem 2304n too!

      I have still to plug it in, but here are a couple of pictures for those who would like to know what is inside the packaging too. I've placed a post-it over the network ID & password. The MAC address does begin with C8C.

      The cables have some new labels on them to indicate where they go, reducing some of the mistakes that can occur. i don't know if this is new or not, the first router I received was in a 'Replacement Router' package.

      Like the Sagem 2504 & the Netgear v2 DG934G, it comes with a stand. With thanks to the inside photos provided by mrbulldog84, it is easy to work out the correct end the stand should be on to get the best of the WiFi signal. The 'Quick Set-Up Guide' shows a picture with the stand in place, with the router in the correct position, but it doesn't make it clear which end is better to put the stand in.

      I'll post more information in due course in the technical section.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics-contents.jpg   Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics-labels.jpg  

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      I think the labelling is a great idea. Absolute masterstroke whoever thought of that, will save a hell of a lot of hassle for people not sure on how to set stuff up.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #18
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I think the labelling is a great idea. Absolute masterstroke whoever thought of that, will save a hell of a lot of hassle for people not sure on how to set stuff up.
      I totally agree, which is why I felt it important to share the information for those here who help. The labels are coated in plastic too, so they should last more than 5 mins.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Yes, all we need now is a free 'Jill and John' book to teach how to read the labels and they will have covered everything.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      242
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky Sagemcom F@ST2304 insides + pics

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Woo Hoo!

      I had a knock on the door just now & low & behold I now have a Sagem 2304n too!

      I have still to plug it in, but here are a couple of pictures for those who would like to know what is inside the packaging too. I've placed a post-it over the network ID & password. The MAC address does begin with C8C.

      The cables have some new labels on them to indicate where they go, reducing some of the mistakes that can occur. i don't know if this is new or not, the first router I received was in a 'Replacement Router' package.

      Like the Sagem 2504 & the Netgear v2 DG934G, it comes with a stand. With thanks to the inside photos provided by mrbulldog84, it is easy to work out the correct end the stand should be on to get the best of the WiFi signal. The 'Quick Set-Up Guide' shows a picture with the stand in place, with the router in the correct position, but it doesn't make it clear which end is better to put the stand in.

      I'll post more information in due course in the technical section.
      I've just received the same:

      MAC starts C8C.
      Packaging advice slip says "Sagem Ph2 Refresh Router UOM=1".

      Stand on the left hand side ?

      So is this the fabled router that has an N-capable chipset, but not enabled?

      Is it worth sticking with this router, or extracting my username and passy so I can use my own router which is configured with my IP address reservations, static routes etc?

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION