Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 29

    D-Link - what they like?

    This is a discussion on D-Link - what they like? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Iíve just received the D-Link modem/router so Iím now waiting for my activation date of 18 April : - ) ...

    1. #1
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      D-Link - what they like?

      Iíve just received the D-Link modem/router so Iím now waiting for my activation date of 18 April : - )

      I was wondering what people think of and their experience with the D-Link kit and if anyone knows what the latest models are as after having a good look at the box itself, I canít see any information about the model number/firmware etc.

      Most people seem to be getting the Sagem F&AST which I believe are ĎNí rated wireless devices but again, itís hard to tell what type of wireless is built into this box from D-Link.

      Iíve got a reasonably new DGN3500 from Netgear with giga LAN and of course wireless ĎNí so my preference would be to be able to grab the username/password from the D-Link and (after the training period), use my own box to hook up my NAS and other gear.

      Thanks in advance for any info


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      No one has received a D-Link for quite a few weeks, looks like they have given up onthe Sagemcoms. If you have your Dlink to hand and the firmware has not been updated, get your details as soon as possible. Find out how in this thread. http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...-password.html

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      Your are lucky then that you didn't get one of the new Sagemcoms
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    5. #4
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      No one has received a D-Link for quite a few weeks, looks like they have given up onthe Sagemcoms. If you have your Dlink to hand and the firmware has not been updated, get your details as soon as possible. Find out how in this thread. http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...-password.html
      Many thanks for the quick reply

      I'll jump to that thread now and hook the D-Link to my laptop (isolated from the net) and see what I can see.

      Thanks again

    6. #5
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      I've just spotted on the delivery note that it says it's the D-Link v1.11

      Not sure if that means firmware version or what but I'll see if I can grab the username/password before it gets loose on the net and possibly updates the firmware : - )

      Thanks

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      I think it may need to be plugged in to get the details, but I am not sure if it has to be connected to Sky. Fuzzy, who wrote the app will know, remember to thank him by the way

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      Sky don't receive the details until the router makes its first login.

      Think that it might have to have done the first login before the app will work but not sure.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #8
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think it may need to be plugged in to get the details, but I am not sure if it has to be connected to Sky. Fuzzy, who wrote the app will know, remember to thank him by the way
      It does need an ADSL connection, because it won't find the password before the router attempts to establish a PPPoA connection. However, I think if your line currently has adsl from another ISP that uses the same ADSL settings (ie other than Bethere or O2 llu), then if you plugged the router in, and let it attempt and fail to connect, it may work, but if it comes up with a username of "12345@skydsl", then it definitely didn't work.

    10. #9
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      Quote Originally Posted by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers View Post
      Sky don't receive the details until the router makes its first login.

      Think that it might have to have done the first login before the app will work but not sure.
      Just hooked the D-Link up quickly and managed to get to some of the pages, although it initially wanted to be connected to the net (Sky config' I guess?) but I passed that and grabbed what I could.

      It's a wireless 'g' modem ...and as might be expected standard 10/100 LAN ports so I'm thinking I'll definitely want to use my own gear in preferrence to this one, but thanks to Sky anyway for the kit

      As far as I can see at the moment, that utility download page only offers the source code but I'll have another look see.

      I've managed to get a copy of the D-Link's config file so I'm going to have a look through it and see if I can see the username/password

      Thanks again

    11. #10
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: D-Link - what they like?

      Quote Originally Posted by sam_skyuser View Post
      Just hooked the D-Link up quickly and managed to get to some of the pages, although it initially wanted to be connected to the net (Sky config' I guess?) but I passed that and grabbed what I could.

      It's a wireless 'g' modem ...and as might be expected standard 10/100 LAN ports so I'm thinking I'll definitely want to use my own gear in preferrence to this one, but thanks to Sky anyway for the kit

      As far as I can see at the moment, that utility download page only offers the source code but I'll have another look see.

      I've managed to get a copy of the D-Link's config file so I'm going to have a look through it and see if I can see the username/password

      Thanks again
      My password extractor requires Java, if you've already got java installed and it didn't run by double clicking see the thread here:-

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...tml#post309583

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION