Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Specific website WONT load

    This is a discussion on Specific website WONT load within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello folks, Aside from other issues about my sync etc, I have a weird issue where I cannot load the ...

    1. #1
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Specific website WONT load

      Hello folks,
      Aside from other issues about my sync etc, I have a weird issue where I cannot load the Tesco mobile pay monthly login page
      I have tried with Firefox and IE9 from my worktop.
      My IPad wont load either and neither will my IPhone - - -except if I switch off wifi and try through 3g - - it then works!
      An email to Tesco was not much help as they say it doesnt work with Firefox or google chrome
      Well it did for me earlier and also with safari via IPad - - but now I get zilch
      I am thinking its got to do with sky but where to look?
      Oddly - - the Tesco pay as you go site will load.
      I am using open dns btw.
      Any ideas?
      Thanks.
      Stuart


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steve50's Avatar
      steve50 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02477
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Nuneaton
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      Hi i have had the exact same problem with the tesco log in site,anyway it turns out that the tesco website wont load if your ip address starts with 2,ive reebooted my router several times until my ip address started with a 9,after this i could log onto the tesco login site no problem

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      There have been several reports of sites not accepting Sky's new addresses(starting with 2), this looks like another one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      I think anything less than 6 was reserved for US government and militray use.

      Of course that changed when the amount of IPv4 addresses started to be used up.

      I am not surprised at this though MS have enough problems keeping the GEOIP file up to date let alone tesco mobile.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #5
      basalt2003's Avatar
      basalt2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01244
      Broadband ISP: BT fibre
      Router: BT business hub 2701HGV
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Chester
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      Quote Originally Posted by steve50 View Post
      Hi i have had the exact same problem with the tesco log in site,anyway it turns out that the tesco website wont load if your ip address starts with 2,ive reebooted my router several times until my ip address started with a 9,after this i could log onto the tesco login site no problem

      Dang me but your right
      Just did it a couple of times - - - got a start with 9 and poof its there
      Thanks for that
      Stuart

    7. #6
      dave a's Avatar
      dave a is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: orange broadband sky TV.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There have been several reports of sites not accepting Sky's new addresses(starting with 2), this looks like another one.
      I am having problems my isp is orange.PAYG will load but pay monthly wont,Tesco seem to want to blame orange,When i put it to them about ip addresses they said if it was that PAYG wouldnt load either I have tried everything to no avail my ip begins with 2 but rebooting my router wont alter it very frustrating,Surely it has to be tescos fault.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      Leave your router off overnight and reboot it in the morning, there is then a good chance you will get a fresh IP address. Have you raised this on the o2user.co.uk forum, they may have different advice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dave a's Avatar
      dave a is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: orange broadband sky TV.
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Leave your router off overnight and reboot it in the morning, there is then a good chance you will get a fresh IP address. Have you raised this on the o2user.co.uk forum, they may have different advice.
      My router is off all night every night it always starts with 2 .I got a text off tesco today check usage just login to your online account tried to reply with some witty comment but it wouldnt send typical

    10. #9
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      I 'd guess it might be a routing issue, unfortunately the last few hops don't respond to a standard ICMP tracert, even on a working connection (which is not uncommon), but they do respond to a tcp trace route (tracetcp) on port 443

      here's the last few hops in case you want to check if and where it fails with your 2... IP addresses.

      C:\Documents and Settings\Me>tracetcp paymonthly.tescomobile.com:443

      Tracing route to 83.245.55.201 [201-55-245-83.packetexchange.net] on port 443
      <snipped>
      6 * * * Request timed out.
      7 43 ms 42 ms 42 ms 212.113.23.125
      8 42 ms 42 ms 41 ms 89.167.138.178 [178-138-167-89.packetexchange.net]
      9 Destination Reached in 43 ms. Connection established to 83.245.55.201
      Trace Complete.

      (212.113.23.125 belongs to .Level 3 Communications)

      As its not a standard windows command, I'm using this one, which also requires winpcap tracetcp
      Last edited by fuzzy logic; 22-04-11 at 03:21 AM.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Specific website WONT load

      Quote Originally Posted by dave a View Post
      My router is off all night every night it always starts with 2 .I got a text off tesco today check usage just login to your online account tried to reply with some witty comment but it wouldnt send typical
      It looks like Orange have made their addresses not actually static, but sticky. They could do this by allocating a set number of addresses to an exchange and if all of these are the 2.xxx type it will be impossible to change them. With Sky you can usually get a change by leaving the router off for a period, if this does not work for you all you can do is call Orange support and tell them the problem you are having.

      It is something that will work itself out in time, but it is not very convenient if it is causing problems now.

      One thing you can try is using Hotspot Shield. I don't know if it would work in your case as the address you are given is USA based which may cause problems logging into a secure server. A friend of mine tried it and found she could not log into her account on Ladbrokes. You can download it from here if you want to try it -
      Hotspot Shield

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION