Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Homefront game and Sagem Router

    This is a discussion on Homefront game and Sagem Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; first of all sorry if this is in the wrong section BUT it's not the game as ive narrowed it ...

    1. #1
      vampman05's Avatar
      vampman05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Homefront game and Sagem Router

      first of all sorry if this is in the wrong section BUT it's not the game as ive narrowed it down and must be the router. so, i'll get straight to the point

      what i want to know is where i stand if i wanted to go out and buy a router that i know works and use that instead of this Sagem?

      cheers in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      Whilst it can be done it is against the sky T&C

      Have you recently joined Sky?

      Can you post your router stats?

      Is your issue lag when gaming online?

      If not what is the issue?
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 29-03-11 at 06:19 PM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #3
      vampman05's Avatar
      vampman05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      1. been with sky over 24months (maybe more)

      2. the router stats ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting

      3. the issue is that ALL my other games work (steam) but not this game. The reason i think it's the router is that my other clan members are on other ISPs with other routers and it works fine (and it's not my PC as ive done a fresh install of the OS etc). There is something up with this router i think that is stopping something from my game connecting properly.

      NOTE: a clan member just told me about a post where all ports have been posted. so i'm going to try that to see if it works or not

      cheers for the help

    5. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      Quote Originally Posted by vampman05 View Post
      1. been with sky over 24months (maybe more)

      2. the router stats ImageShack® - Online Photo and Video Hosting

      3. the issue is that ALL my other games work (steam) but not this game. The reason i think it's the router is that my other clan members are on other ISPs with other routers and it works fine (and it's not my PC as ive done a fresh install of the OS etc). There is something up with this router i think that is stopping something from my game connecting properly.

      NOTE: a clan member just told me about a post where all ports have been posted. so i'm going to try that to see if it works or not

      cheers for the help
      Hopefully it's just an issue with the port.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    6. #5
      vampman05's Avatar
      vampman05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      the ports didnt work which are as follows (incase anyone else wants to know)

      Homefront ports:
      Port=5476
      Port=9378 UDP
      LobbyPort=11045
      DataPort=8001
      BroadcastIpPort=5477
      Port=1000
      ServerBeaconPort=6623 UDP
      BeaconPort=7623 UDP
      QR2BasePort=6500
      DediServerCommPort=8700
      PartyBeaconPort=8675
      GameBeaconPort=8676
      Port=9360

      it's just funny to me that my Clan members who have different routers/ISPs can get online straight away with no hassle but i cant. Also, ive even tried a fresh install of Win7, turning off firewalls/anti-virus etc but still the same thing

      (HINT) Sky should really put a thing in their T&C stating that we the users/customers are allowed to use 3rd party routers BUT if the router fails or if we have Broadband trouble due to a 3rd party router then it's not their (Sky) fault but the user/customer... if you know what i mean

      i'll wait till the patch for the game comes out (this week) and then go from there as i LOVE this game but it's a dower that i cant get online to play with the rest of my clan members!

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      Many members have been able to extract the sign-on details from their Sky routers and are happily using their own routers.

      There are less than a handful of stories of people being disconnected because they used their own routers.

      Personally my own router packed up a little while ago. I'm currently saving for another, so I'm having to use the Sky router once more.

      so if you happen to have a better router laying around, go ahead and plug it in.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      vampman05's Avatar
      vampman05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      like i said i'll wait for the patch first which should be this week then i'll go from there.

      It sounds like this "using your own router" is a "grey area". There is a Clan member who ive just learnt that he also is on Sky, so i'll ask him what his set up is like

      what do you mean "extract" the sign on details? have you a link to where i can see the details/info?

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      I would highlt recommend that you do this now:

      Sky router password generator

      Once you have the software update, Sky could lock out this 'feature'. Write it down somewhere and retain it for the time when you change your mind.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #9
      vampman05's Avatar
      vampman05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      thanks for the link... done and got it

      cheers

    11. #10
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Homefront game and Sagem Router

      I'm wondering if the issue is something as simple as a high ping.

      Can you go to start > all programs > accessories > command prompt and:

      Ping bbc.co.uk and post the result

      If you happen to know the ip address of the homefront game server, it would be a good idea to ping it and post the results of it as well.

      Did you ever request to be placed on a "Gamer Profile"?
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION