Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Upgrading from DG834GT?

    This is a discussion on Upgrading from DG834GT? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have the old white netgear DG834GT router and Id like to upgrade it to the Sagemcom 2304N or something ...

    1. #1
      saswilson's Avatar
      saswilson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Upgrading from DG834GT?

      I have the old white netgear DG834GT router and Id like to upgrade it to the Sagemcom 2304N or something similar that is more up to date. I dont suppose Sky would supply me with a newer router, if I complained about mine?

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to saswilson For This Useful Post:

      Abdul Rehman (29-03-11)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Upgrading from DG834GT?

      Until they stop sending out so many faulty routers, I wouldn't recommend it.

      There is another in the wings: SagemCom 2504N

      This next one is fully WiFi n rated. The 2304n is not (72mbps WiFi).

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #3
      saswilson's Avatar
      saswilson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Upgrading from DG834GT?

      so how do i go about upgrading my current router?

    6. #4
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upgrading from DG834GT?

      Chances are unless it is broke that you won't be able to get a new one.

      Since it is out of warranty they might want to charge 28

      Although if you happen to have a wireless issue on two computers that works with ethernet, might help.

      You ran netsh wlan show all in command prompt and found that nobody was using channels 11,12 or 13 and therefore tried all three as there are know other channels that overlap with them.

      Therefore you obviously tried to change the channel to 13, the mode to 802.11b and tried with no encryption to know avail.

      You will also obviously have tried to manually assign the IP and DNS on both PC's both with 192.168.0.1 as the DNS server addresses and also open DNS addresses.

      Googles 8.8.8.8 and alternative 8.8.4.4
      Last edited by I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers; 21-03-11 at 11:51 PM.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Upgrading from DG834GT?

      Quote Originally Posted by saswilson View Post
      so how do i go about upgrading my current router?
      What benefits do you wish to achieve by 'upgrading' your router?

      Whilst there are some that come to my mind, it would be nice to know what you are specifically looking for.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #6
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Upgrading from DG834GT?

      Why do you want to upgrade? The old netgears were far more reliable.

    9. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Upgrading from DG834GT?

      The DG834GT is still the best router supplied by Sky in my opinion. The new Sagemcom may be better, but it has still to prove itself.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #8
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Upgrading from DG834GT?

      I would agree that the phase 1 netgear is the best router provided by sky.

      Just thought i would be nice and explain how to get a new one if you so wish.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION