Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    WiFi Problems

    This is a discussion on WiFi Problems within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all, Since purchasing my Iphone 3GS and pairing it up with my Netgear DG834GT, I seem to be getting ...

    1. #1
      robbs172's Avatar
      robbs172 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question WiFi Problems

      Hi all,

      Since purchasing my Iphone 3GS and pairing it up with my Netgear DG834GT, I seem to be getting constant problems.
      It will show up on my phone that I have full 3 bars and in my settings I'm still connected but I won't be able to refresh facebook/weather/internet for example. I have been reading into this and I seem to think that I need to upgrade my router firmware as this hasn't been done since I joined sky 4 years ago.
      I have tried upgrading but it won't allow me and I think it may be because I'm using windows 7. Is this the case? If so how else can I get the firmware upgraded?

      Thanks in advance,
      Robbs


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by robbs172 View Post
      Hi all,

      Since purchasing my Iphone 3GS and pairing it up with my Netgear DG834GT, I seem to be getting constant problems.
      It will show up on my phone that I have full 3 bars and in my settings I'm still connected but I won't be able to refresh facebook/weather/internet for example. I have been reading into this and I seem to think that I need to upgrade my router firmware as this hasn't been done since I joined sky 4 years ago.
      I have tried upgrading but it won't allow me and I think it may be because I'm using windows 7. Is this the case? If so how else can I get the firmware upgraded?

      Thanks in advance,
      Robbs
      First thing to do would be open command prompt.

      type in netsh wlan show all

      that will tell you the channels neighbours are using. or alternatively download inSSIDer (link in my signature)

      then open an internet browser. Type in 192.168.0.1

      username = admin
      password = sky

      both lower case

      click on either wireless settings or setup, scroll down and change the channel.

      depending on the other channels in range 13 might be your best bet.

      Another option would be to purchase an N grade router and piggyback them.
      Scubbie has a document about explaining how.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      I would be more inclined to look at you router stats first.

      If you could post them on here, there might be some other issue that needs to be examined first.

      Also could you confirm how your router is connected to the telephone socket?

      i.e. do you use the master socket, any extensions, have you ever changed the Micro-filter.

      The document which IHSA mentioned is here: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      robbs172's Avatar
      robbs172 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      Hi thanks both for your replies, I have switched channel to 13 and am waiting for the connection to drop again. Some days it goes 3-4 times in 20 minutes, then other days it will be fine for a few hours.

      Here's my router stats.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8191 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.5 db 23.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 15.8 db

    6. #5
      robbs172's Avatar
      robbs172 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I would be more inclined to look at you router stats first.

      If you could post them on here, there might be some other issue that needs to be examined first.

      Also could you confirm how your router is connected to the telephone socket?

      i.e. do you use the master socket, any extensions, have you ever changed the Micro-filter.

      The document which IHSA mentioned is here: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html
      The master socket is being used which I have the ADSL gated adapter running off it? It's never been changed since I had installed in 2007

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      If it does drop again, could you post the full stats (including the up times) please.

      It may also be worth installing inSSIDer. This will help you to identify whether there is a conflict in your local area to do with other WiFi routers.

      also look at possible causes of interference. Examples include, but not limited to:

      * Microwave Ovens
      * Televisions
      * Baby monitors
      * Scart senders for TVs

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      If you have chosen the router you suggested in your profile

      If you have a Test Socket it is always worth a try with the short Sky supplied ADSL cable

      You could try posting your full stats Mel's Notes

      You speed is at the lower end of what you should be getting with your attenuation.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #8
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      With an almost 40dB attenuation, 8mbps is about right.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      To answer your first question, your router will be running the latest Sky firmware, which I think is V1.03.87. The only way to upgrade it is to flash it with Netgear firmware. Unless you know what you are doing and preferably have a standby router, this is not advised.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      robbs172's Avatar
      robbs172 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: WiFi Problems

      my issue has come back and is dropping as often as it can. which stats do I post for you?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION