Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

    This is a discussion on New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello We've just received a Sagemcom f@st 2304 router but we're having a slightly different issue with it then most ...

    1. #1
      phatbob's Avatar
      phatbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stafford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      Hello

      We've just received a Sagemcom f@st 2304 router but we're having a slightly different issue with it then most people here.

      Unlike others, the router itself seems stable and works well. The problem is that wifi strength is atrocious - I get only 4 bars (out of 5) when my laptop is right next to the router and my iPhone 4 only gets 1 bar! Moving away even a short distance drops the signal strength on my laptop to 1 and the iPhone doesn't even see the WLAN.

      I've played with the wifi settings and nothing makes any difference - it's so bad I've had to reinstate our old BT hub as an access point!

      Anyone seen similar issues? It looks like the firmware updated automatically as per another comment on a different thread.

      TIA

      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      Could you install inSSIDer to see if there is a clean channel that you can change the router to?

      Typically people choose channels 1, 6 & 11. Channel 13 is also a possible choice.

      Ensure that the router is away from any Microwave Ovens, TV and also any Scart or HDMI senders.

      I don't know specifically why your iPhone registers so poorly, hopefully someone else can suggest a cause.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      phatbob's Avatar
      phatbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stafford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      Thanks for the reply - I'll try out inSSIDer and let you know how I get on. In the meantime, I ran up WiFiFoFum on my iPhone and it can see the Sky WLAN but it only registers 1 bar (-92 rssi) (I'm about 7 feet from the router!) but it tells me it's set to channel 6.

      Conversely, the BT hub is upstairs and is on channel 11 and registers 3 bars (-80 rssi).

    5. #4
      phatbob's Avatar
      phatbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stafford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      Tried installing inSSIDer but it seemed to try to install a mySAP product so I've removed it. I tried kismac instead and it couldn't see the sky router at all.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      Are you using a Mac? If not try Netstumbler - Downloads | NetStumbler.com

      I don't really understand why you have problems with Inssider, unless you are using a Mac, it is the best tool available for Linux and for any Windows OS from Vista on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      phatbob's Avatar
      phatbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stafford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      I've got a windows laptop which is a work one so I have to be careful what I install on it - can you post a link to inSSIDer? I downloaded it twice, once from the main site and once from download.com and both installers did the same thing.

      I have a mac mini as well.

      I think I'll probably all Sky as the router is clearly faulty - I was just wondering if anyone else had experienced the same issue as me.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      There is a link in my sig below which takes you to Metageek. mySAP is a business/enterprise application and I have never seen mention of it in connection with Inssider. Are you sure your business does not use it?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      Very often some geek in an IT Department will decide that some services are not required and will stop them being installed on a PC or Laptop for work purposes.

      I have worked in a place where M$ Office was installed and there were hardly any templates or fonts available.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      Quote Originally Posted by phatbob View Post
      I've got a windows laptop which is a work one so I have to be careful what I install on it - can you post a link to inSSIDer? I downloaded it twice, once from the main site and once from download.com and both installers did the same thing.

      I have a mac mini as well.

      I think I'll probably all Sky as the router is clearly faulty - I was just wondering if anyone else had experienced the same issue as me.
      If you're running vista or windohs 7, to get a list of wireless networks in range and the channels they're using, open a console and run the following command:-

      netsh wlan show all


      With Sky's dlink router, I got a fair improvement in signal strength by mounting it vertically in its stand, and a poster to my blog named Alex says they made a massive improvement by soldering in an external antenna, they'd got for 3 off ebay. http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/8599/skyrouter.jpg

    11. #10
      phatbob's Avatar
      phatbob is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stafford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagemcom 2304 Router - wifi issue

      The laptop is XP sp3 which may be why the inSSIDer setup is doing something odd. Anyhow, the other tools I've installed and Windows itself cannot see the Sagemcom WLAN. the router arrived last week and sky bb was enabled on Tuesday so I'm not too keen on doing any manual alterations to it

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION