Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Ports on back of D-Link

    This is a discussion on Ports on back of D-Link within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; So the blue and green ports on the back of the D-Link are for 'future services', i.e. Anytime+ which is ...

    1. #1
      alflavor's Avatar
      alflavor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whittlesey
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ports on back of D-Link

      So the blue and green ports on the back of the D-Link are for 'future services', i.e. Anytime+ which is not yet in my area.

      I have my PC connected to one Yellow port, and a homeplug connected to the other one to carry internet to my connected TV downstairs.

      If I wanted to expand my system with a NAS, which I am researching, can I use one of the spare blue and green ports??

      I probably won't bother with Anytime+ as I always have enough stuff sky+'d, and of course now have ability to use iplayer properly with Sky BB.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pat46's Avatar
      pat46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Ports on back of D-Link

      i have Anytime+and TBH i haven't noticed much difference to Anytime,maybe others have..

      i connect to the router with a 5 meter Ethernet lead and it works fine....

    4. #3
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Ports on back of D-Link

      You can use any of the ports.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Sebby For This Useful Post:

      alflavor (13-03-11)

    6. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Ports on back of D-Link

      Your profile suggests that you have Sky BB Unlimited. This is a requirement for Anytime+.

      I'd suggest that you go on-line and check your Sky account and see if Anytime+ has been enabled. If it hasn't then go ahead and enable it.

      As has also already been mentioned, any of the ports on your router can be used for your PC & NAS. It is just that Sky have written the Firmware on the router to prioritise the kind of traffic it expects from the Sky+ & Sky+ HD STBs.

      As for the Blue socket, nothing has yet been made public about this one.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Ports on back of D-Link

      i have Anytime+and TBH i haven't noticed much difference to Anytime,maybe others have..
      It depends on what you subscribe to If you have Movies, there are over 500 to choose from. There are also a host of documentaries and box set series. All are in SD unfortunately. You do know that the new Anytime is known as Showcase and is nearly all HD content?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #6
      pat46's Avatar
      pat46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Ports on back of D-Link

      You do know that the new Anytime is known as Showcase and is nearly all HD content?
      indeed i have looked at it briefly, i have sky world package to me it's the BB speed i wanted anytime+ is just a bonus....

    9. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Ports on back of D-Link

      It was just your remark - "i have Anytime+and TBH i haven't noticed much difference to Anytime,maybe others have.." that made me think you were not actually seeing Anytime+ as there is a world of difference between that and the ordinary Anytime.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #8
      pat46's Avatar
      pat46 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Ports on back of D-Link

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It was just your remark - "i have Anytime+and TBH i haven't noticed much difference to Anytime,maybe others have.." that made me think you were not actually seeing Anytime+ as there is a world of difference between that and the ordinary Anytime.
      i didn't word it to well did i

    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Ports on back of D-Link

      You are hereby officially forgiven.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION