Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

    This is a discussion on Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I would appreciate any advice that would help me connect my new lap top to the internet. It does try ...

    1. #1
      barbarahad's Avatar
      barbarahad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01227\
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      I would appreciate any advice that would help me connect my new lap top to the internet. It does try and has done so briefly, but drops out. Have checked all that I can but am getting the message "wireless security does not match".

      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      As it is a new laptop, I'm going to assume that it is Windows 7 that you have installed, as opposed to an older version or Linux.

      Can you open then Wireless properties on your Laptop and check the settings?

      To do this, click the start button, select <Control Panel>
      Under the heading 'Network and Internet, select <View network status and tasks>

      Now click <Wireless Network Connection> to the right of where your router is listed.

      A box entitled 'Wireless Network Connection Status' will now open. Click the button <Wireless Properties> and select the <Security> tab. Now you can change the encryption type between TKIP & AES.

      I've changed my router's WiFi settings, but I believe that the Sky routers should have this set to AES. Mine is currently reading TKIP.

      Click <Ok> & close the other windows which you'd opened.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      The Sky Netgears only support TKIP, although I believe the Sagem and Dlink have a wider choice.

      I think here the problem is that the Laptop is set for WEP and the router for WPA, or vice-versa if the router settings have been changed.

      Check that both devices are set to use the same encryption, either WEP or WPA. If you are using the default wireless key, it is all capital letters, no numbers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      barbarahad (17-02-11)

    6. #4
      barbarahad's Avatar
      barbarahad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01227\
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      Thank you for your reply.
      We have Windows 7 Premium and it doesn't seem to follow the same route to reach Wireless properties.
      I did find by clicking on an icon on the bottom right I reached Wireless Network Connection, but it wouldnt right or left click to the TKIP and AES.

      Any further suggestions would be helpful, I am afraid I am a novice, and have been battling with this for a couple of days now. I do not understand the technicalities of computer speak. I am still at the noddy to big ears stage!

      Many thanks

    7. #5
      barbarahad's Avatar
      barbarahad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01227\
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      Thank you for your reply.

      I think I was able to check that we have the same :
      Enable Wireless Access Point
      Allow Broadcase of Name (SSID)
      WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key)
      (all double dutch to me - I am not computer literate)

      but I couldnt find/reach the TKIP - any further advice would be welcome

      Many thanks

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,243
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      After thinking through just how I might be able to help you further, I think either someone who knows better the Win 7 Ultimate menus should answer, or for you to find someone locally to help would be a better solution.

      Alternatively give Sky a call and see if they can assist you on the telephone.

      Call: 08442 414141

      Tom's suggestion of the WEP / WPA issue may well be the key to resolving the issue and should take a matter of minutes for someone with experience to resolve.

      I have Win 7 Home Premium and it looks as if there may be subtle differences between the menus or your understanding of them. I would hate to lead you towards something that causes you more problems.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      barbarahad (17-02-11)

    10. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      but I couldnt find/reach the TKIP - any further advice would be welcome
      If you have a Netgear router it automatically uses TKIP, there is no way to change it. Any changes must be made in the OS, but if you have not made an attempt to set up the wireless connection manually, it should automatically choose the encryption the router is using.
      What you can try is going into the router settings and Disable the security and click Apply. Then right click the wireless icon in the Tray and choose Search for wireless networks. It should find your network and list it as Unsecured. Highlight it and click Connect. Accept any warnings you may be given about unsecured networks and it should connect you. Try this and let us know how you get on, posting any error messages if it fails to connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      barbarahad (19-02-11)

    12. #8
      barbarahad's Avatar
      barbarahad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01227\
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      Hi Tom, had to have some time away from this, but WOW you have done it. Am replying wirelessly. Thank you thank you thank you very much.

      Barbara

    13. #9
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Vodafone
      Router: THG3000
      Sky TV: Freesat/Now TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      851
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      Tom's suggestion was not supposed to be a cure, rather a step in the fault-finding process. Leaving your wireless unsecured is a very bad idea, as anyone could gain access to it.

      You have proved that there is no hardware problem with your wireless and that the problem is one of security settings.

      You now need to re-enable the security, make sure it is set for WPA2 and set a network key of your own choice (don't forget it is case sensitive). Then try to connect again from the laptop.

    14. #10
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect new HP Lap top to Netgear router

      As moleman suggested disabling wireless security is a no go unless you have set up mac filtering. I strongly recommend you flash your router with a netgear or DGteam firmware and enjoy the finer things in life.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION