Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 132

    New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

    This is a discussion on New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; someone said on here that could use a non sky router on pppoa .But because the network is now mer ...

    1. #51
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      someone said on here that could use a non sky router on pppoa.But because the network is now mer can i go back to pppoa.

      this is what a friend just text me.

      mer stands for mac encapsulated routing.the mac address of the router is used to allow it to connect to the sky network rather than a username and password as with pppoa.it means routers not supplied by sky will not connect,although most routers that support mer do allow a false mac address to be entered manually.

      so if i get a non sky router is it gonna work


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      Quote Originally Posted by thomasjc1 View Post
      someone said on here that could use a non sky router on pppoa.But because the network is now mer can i go back to pppoa.

      this is what a friend just text me.

      mer stands for mac encapsulated routing.the mac address of the router is used to allow it to connect to the sky network rather than a username and password as with pppoa.it means routers not supplied by sky will not connect,although most routers that support mer do allow a false mac address to be entered manually.

      so if i get a non sky router is it gonna work
      It was I who commented on the fact that once you are on MER you may not be able to connect via PPPoA. Shortly after that another member mentioned that he had been able to connect on a connection which had been changed to MER by using PPPoA.

      I also suggested that you may be able to use another setting, such as PPPoE.

      Spoofing the WAN MAC address is also able to be done on many modern routers.

      Just remember to keep your Sky router safely somewhere. This prevents it from being used elsewhere and is a valuable backup.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #53
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      Quote Originally Posted by thomasjc1 View Post
      someone said on here that could use a non sky router on pppoa.But because the network is now mer can i go back to pppoa.

      this is what a friend just text me.

      mer stands for mac encapsulated routing.the mac address of the router is used to allow it to connect to the sky network rather than a username and password as with pppoa.it means routers not supplied by sky will not connect,although most routers that support mer do allow a false mac address to be entered manually.

      so if i get a non sky router is it gonna work
      Currently, you can connect using PPPoA or MER, Sky have them configured on different Virtual Circuits.

      See Tal71's post here:- http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...tml#post309605

    5. #54
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      I have just changed to a none Sky router (DG834GT) and I was on MER now back on PPPoA I did spoof the MAC address of the DG834GT to the same as the D-Link Sky router.



      Note: the Netgear DG834GT was in another life an ex Sky router now flashed with DGteam 14 firmware.
      Last edited by BritBrat; 06-03-11 at 07:58 PM.

    6. #55
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      so let me get this right if im to get a netgear router off ebay does it have to be a sky one or any netgear also what one is better the dg834gt or the dg934g

    7. #56
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      Any DG834 will do the DG934 I think is a Sky router but is the same as a DG834.

      If you can get a GT as I think they are good but you may also want to look at a DGN2000 if you want faster wireless but they will be more costly.

      You should be able to get a DG834/GT for under 10 of Ebay. If you do get a Sky one you will have to put new firmware on it, but it is not hard so long as you have access to a windows XP machine.

    8. #57
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      oh you are joking i just gone over to windows 7 ultimate is that no good then

    9. #58
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      No he is not, although some have had success with Vista/Win7 many find it blue screens and kills the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #59
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      typical

    11. #60
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      Find a friend with XP.

      I think it is best to keep a version handy on a spare box just for issues like this.

      You may be able to dual boot if you have an XP install disc and Key.

      Hey you have windows 7 ultimate that has the option to run XP or at least it does on my pro version, look into that if you have a version of XP. But I have not tried to flash a router using it.

      Windows 7 has several built-in tools to help with program compatibility and Windows XP programs should be installed directly on Windows 7. Windows XP Mode runs many older Windows XP productivity programs and that are not natively compatible with Windows 7, thus helping realize cost savings and reduce possible operational downtime by extending the life of existing software. Visit the Windows 7 Compatibility Center to find software that works with Windows 7.


      microsoft.com - Windows XP Mode with Virtual PC

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to BritBrat For This Useful Post:

      thomasjc1 (08-03-11)

     

     
    Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION