Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 14 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 132

    New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

    This is a discussion on New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; A HUGE thank you to fuzzy logic! I got back from work and the new Sky broadband was connected - ...

    1. #31
      duckie's Avatar
      duckie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      A HUGE thank you to fuzzy logic!

      I got back from work and the new Sky broadband was connected - a day early.

      The D-Link was still on the v1.11 firmware so I followed the instructions above. User name and password in hand I set up my Vigor 120 and Apple Time capsule - all worked (eventually). I had some issues with the wireless, but all sorted after a couple of hours.

      Fuzzy Logic - I'll be adding something to paypal shortly. Without your hard work, time and skills I would never have been able to do this.

      A few more questions....

      Does anyone know how to retrieve broadband stats using my set up? I've used a speed testing program on my iphone and I'm getting 3.31 upload and 0.48 download. But that is all it tells me.

      When I signed up to SkyBB they advised that I'll receive speed between 10-20mbps. Is this likely? I don't really know how this DLM thing works. The exchange is only about 15 yards from my kitchen window!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      How to get your router statistics

      It is normal for you to start with a relatively low connection speed.

      DLM will kick in (probably last night, if not over the next two days) and will last for around 10-14 days. This will bring your speed up to what is suitable for your line.

      As to your speed, ensure that you have correctly setup your router & telephone sockets. This would have been shown in the information supplied with your router.

      Ideally you should also use the Master Socket. It may be necessary to use the test socket behind the master's faceplate if you have a problem to rule out any issues within your home.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #33
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      If that was me I would leave the Sky router connected until after the line training, well that is what I did and a bit longer.

      My guess is it will make no difference but should you have problems you will have to connect the Sky router anyway.

    5. #34
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      im now on the new firmware and i now have a static ip address can i change it back to dynamic on my d link router

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      Quote Originally Posted by thomasjc1 View Post
      im now on the new firmware and i now have a static ip address can i change it back to dynamic on my d link router
      Where did it tell you you have a static address?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #36
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      i just went into google and done one of those my ip address things and its not changing if i turn the router off its still the same address as it was an hour ago and i have turned off a couple times to try it.in the router status it says this same address also

      sorry if that sounds a bit dumb but im quite new to all this

    8. #37
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      Quote Originally Posted by BritBrat View Post
      I will run some test when in the mood to see if user/pass and mac spoofing works on two netgear routers I have DGN2000 and DG834GT.
      Got the DG834GT with DGteam 14 firmware working first time.

      I did spoof the MAC so did not try without it by:

      Exporting cfg file opening with notepad/wordpad and entering MAC of the Sky router.

      Code:
          #< Router MAC Address >
      	# MAC address
      	[20701]"Use This MAC Address"=00:00:00:00:00:00
      #< ADSL Settings >
      Replace 00:00:00:00:00:00 with your MAC address, save the file as plain text then import back to router.

    9. #38
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      It has been previously reported on this site that you don't always get allocated a different IP address on Sky's BB. This applies whether you are on PPPoA or MER.

      It may be necessary to switch off your router for longer in order to get a different IP address with MER, but the IP address isn't currently static.

      If you wish, make a written note of your current IP address, switch off your router for a few hours & reconnect. Then compare.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #39
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      i rang sky they said reset the router so done that and still same address

      they said that its never static allways dynamic so i dunno

    11. #40
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New D-Link DSL-2640S Firmware Sky_2.04?

      ok ill leave it off for a bit longer

     

     
    Page 4 of 14 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION