Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 34

    Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

    This is a discussion on Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi all Having troubles getting Wake on Lan to work with this router In the past I have managed to ...

    1. #1
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Hi all

      Having troubles getting Wake on Lan to work with this router

      In the past I have managed to get it working for about 5 mins after i've sent the computer to sleep, then it ceases to work.

      I can wake up any of my computers over LAN using WakeOnLan (OS X) but not over the internet- so the MAC addresses and IP addresses must be correct...

      I have configured the "Inbound services" on the router to forward anything sent to port 7 (UDP) to be forwarded onto one of my computers IP addresses.

      I have a bit of software called Wake On Lan Monitor which doesn't currently detect any magic packets what so ever, however it did display traffic when it was working for 5 mins or so

      Anything that i'm doing wrong?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      t-bon3's Avatar
      t-bon3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWHELS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7000
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Helston
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      You should be forwarding the incoming packet to the local 'broadcast' address of 192.168.0.255, not to any specific computer IP on the network.

      Also try forwarding UDP port 9 as well as port 7.

    4. #3
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Yes, thats what I thought, however whenever I try to add that IP address it says "192.168.0.255 is an invalid IP address" i can add 192.168.0.254 though etc etc!

      See attached shot


    5. #4
      fuzzy logic's Avatar
      fuzzy logic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      463
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 70 Times in 51 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Quote Originally Posted by lycrake View Post
      Yes, thats what I thought, however whenever I try to add that IP address it says "192.168.0.255 is an invalid IP address" i can add 192.168.0.254 though etc etc!

      See attached shot


      You could get around the error message by adding 192.168.0.254, then use the option in the router's UI to backup it's settings to your PC. Make a copy of the backup file in case your have to factory reset the router, and edit the xml in a text editor to change the IP address to .255 then restore the edited copy. That should get around the input validation, although I can't guarantee it will work.

    6. #5
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      That's a great idea- will try tonight and report back! Thanks

    7. #6
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Unfortunately it doesn't work- I managed to get the IP address changed via the method you said, but no dice. When I change the IP back to the IP of the computer im trying to Wake, it works fine...until I leave it for 5 minutes!

      Any other ideas?
      Last edited by lycrake; 11-01-11 at 07:20 PM.

    8. #7
      t-bon3's Avatar
      t-bon3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWHELS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7000
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Helston
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Is the computer you are trying to wake set as a static IP in its TCP/IP configuration or is it given a reserved address from DHCP by its mac address in the router setup?
      See:
      http://192.168.0.1/lancfg2.html

    9. #8
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Yep the computer I am trying to wake has a static IP (i've set), and i've also reserved that IP address in the address reservation table...

    10. #9
      t-bon3's Avatar
      t-bon3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWHELS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7000
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Helston
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      It seems like the 5 minutes is the timeout the router has on deciding if a device has really disconnected.
      After that the incoming packet is never forwarded as the router assumes that the device is no longer connected.

      If the 'magic packet' is sent to a different IP address on the network, to a device that is on and connected, will the sleeping computer still see the packet on the network and wake up?

    11. #10
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Just tested, if I send the magic packet to another IP address/computer that is on and connected, the original computer im trying to turn on doesn't receive it...

      Also tried wiring up a second router to pass the packet along the chain, but didn't have any luck with that either! Wouldn't let me specify 192.168.0.255 either!

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION