Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 34

    Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

    This is a discussion on Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Any router that can use DD-WRT firmware. Supported Devices - DD-WRT Wiki...

    1. #21
      t-bon3's Avatar
      t-bon3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWHELS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7000
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Helston
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Any router that can use DD-WRT firmware.

      Supported Devices - DD-WRT Wiki


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Right, i've summoned up the courage to have another battle with this. I've bought a router- a Linksys WRT54G v2.2. Yes its a cable router, so can't plug the phone line directly into it. At the moment, the phone line goes into my Sky DLink router, and then I have a single network cable going from that into my Linksys Router. All my computers are then connected to the Linksys Router as well.

      I've flashed the Linksys Router with the new DD-WRT firmware and that all works well. I can communicate with all the computers, and the internet works fine also through the two routers.

      In the new firmware of the Linksys router there is a WakeOnLan command, which will successfully wake up each of the computers over the LAN. However, it still doesn't work over the internet.

      On my DLink router i've got the ports being forwarded to the IP address of the Linksys Router. On the Linksys router, i've got them being forwarded to the computer in question and also the broadcast address- but it doesn't work.

      Am i missing something here? Should this work?

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      This is probably one of the best articles on Wake on Lan and Wake on Wan. Have a read through it and you might find something useful.
      How To: Wake on LAN / Wake on WAN - SmallNetBuilder

      Let us know how you get on as this is a perennial question on the forum.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Interesting, i've read through that and i've pretty much got it covered.

      I'm starting to draw to the conclusion that useable WoL is just not possible using the DLink router, even when you have another device connected into it. As when I started, I can get it working perfectly for 5 minutes, then the ARP cache is flushed and it ceases to work.

      Using Wireshark and various other tools, I can see my computer is receiving the Magic Packet on port 9. It goes from the online WOL utility through my DLink Router, through my Linksys Router and into my laptop, but after a period of time it ceases to work.

      Ill persevere, but i'd love to hear if anybody has got WoL to work with a DLink router and any other device they have connected to it!

    6. #25
      jammmyb's Avatar
      jammmyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STWINTN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Seriously, is this not possible??? I need this! Any suggestions?

      INTERNAL WOL is fine everytime. Trying to WOL from external is what I need!
      Last edited by jammmyb; 28-08-11 at 10:51 AM.

    7. #26
      ken0062's Avatar
      ken0062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanberis
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      I have just managed to get it to work

      First of all use mels router plugin to enable the telnet interface Mels router plugin version 0.01a - Mels

      Once you have enabled telnet you can then telnet into the router
      enter login admin password sky
      >arp add 192.168.0.254 ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
      >arp show
      >exit

      Now if you use the standard web interface to forward any port you wish to use to 192.168.0.254 it will forward it to the local 'broadcast' address not to any specific computer IP on the network.

    8. #27
      ken0062's Avatar
      ken0062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanberis
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Quote Originally Posted by ken0062 View Post
      I have just managed to get it to work

      First of all use mels router plugin to enable the telnet interface Mels router plugin version 0.01a - Mels

      Once you have enabled telnet you can then telnet into the router
      enter login admin password sky
      >arp add 192.168.0.254 ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
      >arp show
      >exit

      Now if you use the standard web interface to forward any port you wish to use to 192.168.0.254 it will forward it to the local 'broadcast' address not to any specific computer IP on the network.
      I have just realised that there is a slight problem with this method that it does not survive a reboot, after a reboot you have to re enter the arp value again.

    9. #28
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Hi Ken,

      Is that a reboot of the computer or the router?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #29
      ken0062's Avatar
      ken0062 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanberis
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Hi Ken,

      Is that a reboot of the computer or the router?
      Its after a reboot of the router
      if you telnet into the router and do
      >arp show
      the value 192.168.0.254 ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
      is missing from the table and needs to be entered again

      Does anyone know of a way of making arp table entrys survive a reboot.

    11. #30
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Phew!

      That wasn't such a surprise since most routers loose any settings made through telnetting them.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION