Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 34

    Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

    This is a discussion on Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Looks like this might be a feature of D-link routers. In the router 'LAN IP setup', try changing the ' ...

    1. #11
      t-bon3's Avatar
      t-bon3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWHELS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7000
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Helston
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Looks like this might be a feature of D-link routers.

      In the router 'LAN IP setup', try changing the 'IP Subnet Mask' to 255.255.255.128 and then change the port forwarding for the Wake on Lan 'magic packet' to send to IP 192.168.0.127 (this is the 'broadcast address' for the .128 subnet.)

      Make sure all of your devices are assigned IP addresses below 192.168.0.126 before you do this!
      Last edited by t-bon3; 12-01-11 at 11:25 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Hi there,

      I'll admit that I don't have that much experience with WOL, but the experience I have does not need anything like what you are specifying.

      I was under the impression that WOL uses the MAC address for the LAN card, not an IP address. Is it worth taking a different approach and checking the software that you are using and either updating it or trying a different product?

      For reference I have been using LogMeIn which appears to work fine for remote control & WOL. I've never played with a router to add the address being touted (168.192.0.255).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      t-bon3's Avatar
      t-bon3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWHELS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7000
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Helston
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      The WOL 'magic packet' contains the mac address of the machine to be woken up.
      When the OP generates this packet on a computer within his LAN then the sleeping machine will wake up. In this case the packet is not sent to a specific IP address but rather to the LAN 'broadcast' address so that that all devices on the network will receive it.
      The problem is getting the router to correctly forward a WOL packet sent from the internet, outside the LAN.

      LogMeIn is great but it still needs one 'powered on' computer on the network to wake up the sleeping ones: https://logmeinsupport.com/kblive/cr...7162&SecMode=1
      The Wake on LAN function requires at least one other LogMeIn host to be online and available on the same LAN.
      Alternatively you could remotely connect to a simple Linux device on the network (e.g. router with custom firmware, Linksys NSLU2, etc,) and use that to send the WOL packet to wake the sleeping computer.
      Wake-on-LAN (tutorial) - DD-WRT Wiki
      Last edited by t-bon3; 12-01-11 at 08:24 PM. Reason: Clarifications

    5. #14
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Quote Originally Posted by t-bon3 View Post
      Looks like this might be a feature of D-link routers.

      In the router 'LAN IP setup', try changing the 'IP Subnet Mask' to 255.255.255.128 and then change the port forwarding for the Wake on Lan 'magic packet' to send to IP 192.168.0.127 (this is the 'broadcast address' for the .128 subnet.

      Make sure all of your devices are assigned IP addresses below 192.168.0.126 before you do this!

      Unfortunately this doesn't work either! Why don't they make it easy for you!? I've left the Wan users: as any IP address, unsure what should go here... but assuming im putting "any" it shouldn't have any adverse effect?

    6. #15
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Hi there,

      I'll admit that I don't have that much experience with WOL, but the experience I have does not need anything like what you are specifying.

      I was under the impression that WOL uses the MAC address for the LAN card, not an IP address. Is it worth taking a different approach and checking the software that you are using and either updating it or trying a different product?

      For reference I have been using LogMeIn which appears to work fine for remote control & WOL. I've never played with a router to add the address being touted (168.192.0.255).

      Hi there, yes i'm using logmein as well- and its a great bit of software, however, if i can't wake my computer up from sleep remotely then I can't use it :-(

    7. #16
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      After much fiddling about, I STILL haven't got this to work with this router! Has anybody?

      Thanks

    8. #17
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      After much fiddling about, I STILL haven't got this to work with this router! Has anybody?

      Thanks

    9. #18
      gurdain's Avatar
      gurdain is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: North Finchley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      I just got an app for the iPhone to use wake on LAN because sometimes I accidentally leave it off or don't want it on all the time when I use teamviewer.

      Same issue I have same router. It doesn't turn on, I've forwarded directly port 9 to my machine and have the mac address and pme wake in bios on and all that jazz.

      Has anyone managed to do this???

    10. #19
      t-bon3's Avatar
      t-bon3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WWHELS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear D7000
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Helston
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      Unfortunately it looks like it cannot be done at the present time with just this router on its own.
      If you cannot change to a new router then there needs to be some other device on the network to send the magic packet to the network broadcast address, this could be:
      1. Another router that supports forwarding to broadcast addresses
      2. Another computer that is already on
      2. A device that runs Linux and is connected to the network (e.g. WD Mybookworld, Maxtor Shared Storage, Seagate Dockstar, Buffalo Linkstation / Terastation, HP MediaVault, QNAP TurboStation, Freecom DT2, Synology DS, Playstation 2, Nokia N800, Palm Pre/Pixi, Android device, Jailbroken iDevice, etc.)

    11. #20
      lycrake's Avatar
      lycrake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wake on lan with D-Link DSL 2640S

      If I wanted to change to a new router to be able to do this, what router would be good to get to do the job?

      Thanks

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION