Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    New DLink Sky router connecting to DIR615 with ddWRT

    This is a discussion on New DLink Sky router connecting to DIR615 with ddWRT within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hope someone can help. I have the following configuration: Sky's new DLink router which connects nicely to the internet but ...

    1. #1
      ryukent's Avatar
      ryukent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry New DLink Sky router connecting to DIR615 with ddWRT

      Hope someone can help. I have the following configuration:

      Sky's new DLink router which connects nicely to the internet but only offers wireless G and I can't change the firmware because there's no way of getting my username/password. Sky said they'd give me an N class router when I signed up. Apparently it was lies but too late now.

      I then have a DLink DIR615 wireless N router with ddWRT flashed. It's an old virgin one but works like a charm.

      I can plug the Sky router into a normal port on the ddWRT router and turn DHCP only on for the Sky router. That way I can wireless onto the N router and still get Sky internet. Works fine.... but I don't want to do this.

      I want to connect the Sky router into the WAN port on the N router and turn off DHCP on the Sky router. I want to run DHCP on the N router and use it for QOS, port mapping etc.

      But this does not seem to work. I've got my Sky router as 192.168.0.1 and turned on a DMZ for 192.168.0.2

      I then set up the N router with static WAN ip to 192.168.0.2 and set the WAN gateway to 192.168.0.1. I now set the static DNS to 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220 (openDNS).

      Under the network setup I've got a local IP on the N router of 192.168.1.1. DHCP is on. Now here's the bit I don't quite get.

      Under network setup on the N router, should the gateway and local DNS be set to 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1?

      Trying either doesn't work. I can wireless to my Sky router, use the net. I can wireless to the N router and log in, but no internet access. I've tried using a Dynamic IP from the sky router which assigns to the N router OK. This is a problem for the DMZ. Still nothing. The N router is in router mode and not gateway mode.

      What am I doing wrong?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ryukent's Avatar
      ryukent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New DLink Sky router connecting to DIR615 with ddWRT

      OK, I solved my problem. Anyone viewing this with the same problem, here's what I did.

      1. Changed router mode to Gateway and not Router.
      2. Changed local gateway and local DNS to 0.0.0.0

      Sorted.

    4. #3
      max360's Avatar
      max360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Birchfield (CMBIR)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New DLink Sky router connecting to DIR615 with ddWRT

      Quote Originally Posted by ryukent View Post
      OK, I solved my problem. Anyone viewing this with the same problem, here's what I did.

      1. Changed router mode to Gateway and not Router.
      2. Changed local gateway and local DNS to 0.0.0.0

      Sorted.
      On your DD-WRT router is the WAN Connection type set to: Automatic Configuration or Static IP?

    5. #4
      ryukent's Avatar
      ryukent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New DLink Sky router connecting to DIR615 with ddWRT

      I have it on static, but either works.

      Quote Originally Posted by max360 View Post
      On your DD-WRT router is the WAN Connection type set to: Automatic Configuration or Static IP?

    6. #5
      ryukent's Avatar
      ryukent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lower Holloway
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New DLink Sky router connecting to DIR615 with ddWRT

      I've included my settings below. Note that I've got DNS forwarding to open DNS. This is a free service and superior to that of Sky so I'd advise using these settings. They will also work on any ISP so you are free to move the router without changing the settings. Check their website for more info. Try this:

      First plug your cable from the sky box into the WAN port of your ddWRT router and log into your sky box to set it up like this:

      ADVANCED / WAN SETUP
      Tick Default DMZ Server and set it to 192.168.0.2

      ADVANCED / LAN IP SETUP
      LAN TCP/IP Setup
      IP Address: 192.168.0.1
      IP Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

      You can leave use router as DHCP server on if you want. It will make connecting to the sky box easier so why not.

      Then log in to ddWRT on your Buffalo (or whatever) and make sure the settings are as follows

      Setup / Basic Setup
      Connection type: Static IP
      WAN IP address: 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mark: 255.255.255.0
      Gateway: 192.168.0.1
      Static DNS 1: 208.67.222.222
      Static DNS 2: 208.67.220.220
      Static DNS 3: 0.0.0.0
      STP: Disable

      Network Setup:
      Router IP
      Local IP Address: 192.168.1.1
      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Gateway: 0.0.0.0
      Local DNS: 0.0.0.0

      Network Address Server Settings (DHCP)
      DHCP Type: DHCP Server
      DHCP Server: Enable

      Then Setup / Advanced Routing
      Operating Mode: Gateway

      Hope this helps.

    7. #6
      dwalley's Avatar
      dwalley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New DLink Sky router connecting to DIR615 with ddWRT

      Quote Originally Posted by ryukent View Post
      I've included my settings below. Note that I've got DNS forwarding to open DNS. This is a free service and superior to that of Sky so I'd advise using these settings. They will also work on any ISP so you are free to move the router without changing the settings. Check their website for more info. Try this:

      First plug your cable from the sky box into the WAN port of your ddWRT router and log into your sky box to set it up like this:

      ADVANCED / WAN SETUP
      Tick Default DMZ Server and set it to 192.168.0.2

      ADVANCED / LAN IP SETUP
      LAN TCP/IP Setup
      IP Address: 192.168.0.1
      IP Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0

      You can leave use router as DHCP server on if you want. It will make connecting to the sky box easier so why not.

      Then log in to ddWRT on your Buffalo (or whatever) and make sure the settings are as follows

      Setup / Basic Setup
      Connection type: Static IP
      WAN IP address: 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mark: 255.255.255.0
      Gateway: 192.168.0.1
      Static DNS 1: 208.67.222.222
      Static DNS 2: 208.67.220.220
      Static DNS 3: 0.0.0.0
      STP: Disable

      Network Setup:
      Router IP
      Local IP Address: 192.168.1.1
      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Gateway: 0.0.0.0
      Local DNS: 0.0.0.0

      Network Address Server Settings (DHCP)
      DHCP Type: DHCP Server
      DHCP Server: Enable

      Then Setup / Advanced Routing
      Operating Mode: Gateway

      Hope this helps.




      Hi this has worked great for months and thank you for that. However this morning my internet access stopped and when i diagnosed the problem is told me the DNS Server was not working. I did the trace from the sky box with no problem but when i hooked in the linksys unit i got no traces. I re-set the linksys and set it up again but still have the same issue. Any ideas? as i am lost with this one

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION